We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took nearly $200 from my card” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Todmorden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Took nearly $200 from my card”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I cancelled in good time before the cut-off time (4pm the day before my reservation) yet they still took the money from my card which I'm trying to get back. Best not to ever give Super 8 your card details in advance of your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    61
    81
    36
    48
See reviews for
46
51
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

was unsure of staying here as not all of the reviews were great but it was absolutely fine. About a 10 min walk to downtown Austin tho you did have to cross a main road. Rooms were clean and tidy with plenty of space. Great value for money with free parking as well. Would recommend if looking for a value hotel in Austin!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Clean, Newly remodeled room. Friendly staff. The candy machine outside ate my money. Twice. The Manager refunded me the 2.50.
The hotel is right next to I-35, and is the least expensive motel closest to the College/State Government district, which means the clientele are usually younger, and less likely to care about other guests. They were a noisy bunch. At 2 in the morning. We never complained (What's the point?) so we can't fault the managers.
The motel had a breakfast setup, but we didn't partake. There was a Denny's 4 blocks up on the same side of the hiway.
The bedspreads could use a good laundering. The one on the second bed looked...icky. The pillows were clean, but rather thin.
Overall, if you need to be close to the capitol on a budget, this is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was a single-female traveler and stayed at this motel near the end of the remodel process. The rooms are completely updated, including the plumbing. I liked the laminate flooring and the sofa was comfortable to sit on. Good wifi and cable TV. There was a new microwave, fridge and coffee maker. I did not take advantage of the breakfast, but the front staff was very helpful. Jeff checked me in the evening I arrived and helped me arrange a taxi to the Moody Theater for an evening show. The front staff stowed my suitcase after check-out time so I could explore Austin before my evening flight home.

The location is within walking distance of the state Capitol and UT, but it is a trek across the I-35. I did not feel comfortable walking to downtown at night by myself, but cabs were efficient and reasonable ($8.00 on-way). During the day, I walked into downtown and used the metro bus system to explore the area. This is a good basic hotel. The location is about as far as I would want to stay from downtown Austin, without a car. The motel is on the east edge of downtown Austin, a very historic and interesting neighborhood. Franklin's Barbecue is a quick walk up a side street (bring your lawn chair for a two hour wait). There also were a few clubs and restaurants a short walk away on east 11th street.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 215. It was the farthest area away from the highway, quiet during my mid-week stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area

Address: 1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.