We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISPLEASED” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 187 Hotels in Austin
SAN ANTONIO
1 review
“DISPLEASED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I paid $92 for a room WITH my military discount (a whole $5)...and both the night and day desk clerks were less than friendly or knowledgeable. My car broke down on I35, and this was (what I thought) the nearest and economical hotel from my break down. This motel was severely overpriced for what the room offered. I will never make this mistake again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    60
    80
    36
    48
See reviews for
45
50
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
morgantown
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

like the title says.

Pros: It;s close to downtown, 10 min walk to 6th st. shot cab or drive to campus/athletic facilities.

Cons: There is a smell in the rooms, they are extremely dated. Pool was closed for the weekend, and that's a good thing because the water was dark green.

Service: The worst I had ever experienced. The Indian fellow aforementioned by the previous reviews, was extremely rude. Ownership needs to take a look at these reviews and make some serious changes. Terrible service. Very confrontational and extremely ignorant.

Would not recommend anybody stay there on a specialized weekend, Unless you want a low quality hotel at high quality prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN MATEO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

You get what you pay for, but this hotel had some issues. One soda machine was out of order and the other was empty for the two days I was there. The pool was closed and the staff couldn't say when it would open. It was 90 degrees plus when I was there. The room definitely needs some paint. The pillows were very hard. The TV was old, but did have a good selection of cable channels. I didn't find the staff particularly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I came to Austin for a concert and to explore 6th street. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. The location was great because we were able to walk to 6th street. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm assuming from a prior review that I had skimmed through that this manager, Rasik Naik, is the same person I was about to complain about. Rude, not understanding, and unnecessarily redundant to the point where after you explain anything, he simply repeats his statement with no real point coming across. The rooms were a little below mediocre, pool was barely usable, with it's only upside being the location. I started out paying 55 plus taxes per day. Due to a friend with a dog who came over while i was going to shower and spent no more than 30 minutes in there i ended up having to pay 100 dollars more. so about 240 total. could have gotten a fancy hotel in a better location with that money. The person who i was talking to, which again i have to assume is the aforementioned manager, was not understanding at all about the situation. Before i left, i made sure there was not a single dog hair and that it had not gone to the bathroom anywhere in the hotel, and in 30 minutes i doubt many dogs would do such a thing. Even when all this was brought up, he did not wave the charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area

Address: 1201 North I-35, I-35 and 12th Street, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Super 8 Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Austin/Dtwn/Capitol Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.