We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple venue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Backyard

The Backyard
13101 Highway 71 West, Austin, TX 78738
512 263 4146
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 143 Attractions in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Backyard is located in the heart of the Texas Hill Country in a natural, open-air setting enveloped in the shade of 400 year old live oaks. This one of a kind amphitheater hosts music of a varied and eclectic mix of musicians.
La Vernia, Texas
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Multiple venue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was spread out with rough terrain and multiple venue options. I don't see this place as becoming a place for future events until improvements are made.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, TX
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Amateur Hour!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife wanted to see Willie Nelson who was playing at The Backyard in Austin. Knowing that the traffic would be heavy, we rented a room at the nearby Hampton Inn. It took us 1 1/2 hours to drive from the hotel to the parking lot at The Backyard. There are eight lanes of traffic that must converge into two lanes to enter the parking lot. When we finally got in, we were told that the lot was full and that "it was every man for himself". We did find a place by the "Press Desk". Premium seating was a folding chair inside a roped off area. They ran out of food; the only choice was some kind of oriental chicken (which was surprisingly good) after a 1/2 hour wait. Drinks would have required another 1/2 hour wait in a different line. We decided to leave before the show was over to avoid a similar fiasco. Interestingly, the concert was being broadcast on Sirius so we listened to the last 15 minutes on the radio! Suggest you avoid The Backyard unless you are young and masochistic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very cool venue for a outdoor concert. The place is located southwest of downtown Austin approximately 22 miles depending which route you take. The place is celebrating 20 years this July and truly is a unique place for great music. I saw String Cheese Incident there over the 4th of July weekend and the sound is amazing. They have a great stage that one can see very easy from any location, except the back. Parking is easy and access is very easy in and out, but somewhat slow depending on the number of cars. However, you are out in the fresh air and in a scenic setting. Enjoy if you have the chance to attend a concert here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great outdoor venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

a wonderful outdoor music venue. It's not a huge place, but not small. Everywhere is a great seat. They have good food options as well. I look forward to going back here for more music entertainment.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A classic, comfortable, rustic outdoor music venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Tends to fill up fast. Bring things (cushions, etc.,) to make your visit comfortable. Sounds system is good, parking is decent...a great way to spend an evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Backyard also viewed

 

Been to The Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.