We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & welcoming staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location & welcoming staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Austin to check out some of the great local BBQ restaurants and to visit the city for the first time. I've always enjoyed my stays at other Marriott Residence Inns and Austin was no exception. As everyone has mentioned the hotel is very nicely located, there are bus stops around the area and a metro train stop right across the street.

If you're traveling with a pet, like we were, there is a nice dog park one very short block over from the hotel. Very nice and unexpected.

As many restaurants as are in the area, it's still nice to be able to just pop downstairs for a quick coffee or a drink. There is a Starbucks accessible from inside the hotel and Champions Restaurant & Sports Bar for a drink and a bite to eat. (Breakfast is served there as well)

For the most part valet was timely with our car considering the small area they have to work with and the amount of people that were there for the Labor Day weekend. A bit of jockeying around with all of the cars but we never waited more than 5 or 10 minutes. Great to not have to worry about finding parking.

Overall we had a very nice stay at this Residence Inn and would stay there again the next time we’re in Austin. Definitely recommend it if you’re traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Tearitup,
Thank you so much for choosing our pet friendly hotel. As you mentioned the dog park is just across the street from the hotel and the 'leash free' dog park is only a few blocks away along Lady Bird Lake. Also, thank you for recognizing our thoughtful associates as they make our hotel special. We all look forward to hosting the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    83
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
60
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has a new, clean feel. Staff are very friendly and well trained. Location is great, walking distance to restaurants and bars. Free wifi is available, breakfast was included and about what you would expect. The only catch is the parking is a little pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
rnally,
Thank for posting a great summary of our hotel on Tripadvisor. Every associate here at out hotel appreciates your business and looks forward to entertaining in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice staff, perfect location, clean room, good deal. We walked from Whole Foods where we were able to cook healthy meals in the room when we weren't gorging ourselves with all of the great food all around us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Jeff D,
Your ability to cook when surrounded by all the amazing restaurants in Austin is impressive! Thank you for letting everyone know about the Original Whole Foods supermarket located just under a mile from the hotel. We also offer complimentary Whole Foods delivery to the hotel thru their online portal. Jeff, thank you for staying with us while in Austin! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Residence in during SXSW Interactive 2013 and really enjoyed this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and quite spacious. The staff was extremely accommodating to all of our needs (we abused the bell boy a bit having him haul boxes and boxes of merch for a party we were throwing.)

I shared a room with a coworker and had to sleep on the pullout bed in the couch. It was what you would expect from a pullout mattress, it wasn't the most comfortable but I was able to sleep just fine.

I also felt extremely safe here. SXSW is a CRAZY time if you've ever been, and they closed down all entrances with the exception of one and had a few bouncer/doormen checking for keys before you entered. Was comforting that some drunk stranger wasn't going to follow me in.

One of the best things about this hotel was the location. It's right smack in the downtown area and everything is within a 5-10 minute walk at most. Was quite nice for accessibility during SXSW.

The free breakfast here was a nice addition. It saved me some money and actually wasn't bad. Powdered eggs and all. The waitstaff here was also very friendly, by the end of our trip we became friends with half the waitstaff. The attached Starbucks was also very nice. :D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
vanessarae,
Thank you so much for celebrating our amazing associates on your Trip Advisor review. They make our hotel special. Only one person was heart broken...The Chef. He would never use powder eggs and works hard to source most of our products locally. When you return for SXSW 2014 he will be sure to make you up some fresh over easy eggs! Thank you so much for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although I live in Austin, I had a corporate retreat here last week. The room was nicely appointed, comfortable, and had everything I needed. The lobby has a great area to plug in your laptop and free Wi-Fi made working from the lobby easy. The hotel is a block away from one of my favorite restaurants, Eddie V's. Staff is helpful...can't think of a negative although I wish the bar in the lobby was less of a sports bar. With so many places within walking distance, though, it is even tough to complain about that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
JDKAC,

Thank you so much for posting your review of you recent business 'trip'. For future visitors to Austin please take JDKAC's advice and visit Eddy V's Steak House located right behind the hotel. You can thank him later! JDKAC, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day Weekend, which was also UT's opening weekend of football. Hotel staff was excellent, always greeting you upon entering and asking if they could help you with anything. Hotel has a no-party policy, which kept the hotel quiet at night even though Austin itself is a loud, party city. Valet was $29 per day and was very quick at pulling our car up. Room was new (or newly renovated), very clean and pretty big, with a very large sofa for lounging. Residence Inn also comes with free breakfast, which I believe is not free at the Courtyard by Marriott. The Residence and Courtyard occupy the same building and appear to both be great places to stay. Location is perfect for access to Town Lake/River, 6th Street, Capital, Rainey Street, etc. We will return upon our next trip to Austin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
DaveA10,
We all appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We will continue to do our best to keep the hotel as a place where you can escape the energy of the 'Live Music Capital.' As you mention breakfast is included in the room rate at the Residence Inn. At the Courtyard by Marriott you would have a choice to book a room or a room with breakfast. Thank you again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a late entry as my stay at the Residence Inn was back in the middle of May for a nursing conference. From the time my friend and I arrived to the hotel we were greeted by the manager who gave us tips about the "in's and outs of the city" which was very helpful. We had an issue with the AC in our room making a loud noise and the maintenance crew was right there to fix the unit. The desk help was very friendly, Milyeon and Suzy keep up the great work! The manager of the hotel should be proud of his team and I'm sorry I forgot your name as your establishment is well run!!! The complimentary breakfast @ Champions was delicious and what a wide range of foods to select from!! Great buffet and the waitress Katie is such a hard worker and very efficient!! Murant, the Champions manager great restaurant. Wish your restaurant was here in NH!! We miss you all already!!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong at the Residence Inn in downtown Austin. Full size kitchen, with appliances and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Residence Inn Associates at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Beachgirl2056,

THANK YOU! We had a great time getting you know you during your time in Austin. We look forward to seeing you for your next conference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Residence Inn Austin Downtown
Residence Inn Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Address: 300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Austin
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.