We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the location, rooms nicely decorated and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Killeen, Texas, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love the location, rooms nicely decorated and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have stayed here many times with my boyfriend. We love the comfy rooms and nicely decorated rooms. Best is the hotel location, right off of 6th street. The breakfast buffet in the morning is fabulous!
This is the only hotel we stay in when we go to Austin!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Laura,
Thank you for making our hotel your go to when in Austin. On your next trip please do not hesitate to let us know how we can make your visit even more enjoyable. We are AT YOUR SERVICE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    83
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
59
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I found my 2 day hotel visit to be one of the better hotel experiences I've had. I travel every other week so I get plenty of hotel time. I was at a conference at a nearby hotel but was really pleased with the extremely friendly service of the front desk folks along with the restaurant staff. They offer free breakfast and social hour on certain nights..it was a little odd that it was in the Champion's restaurant but regardless the food was really good. Very close to all of the action on 6th as well as only a few blocks from the jogging trail on the river(which I used once). The room itself was very nice and seemed to be pretty new. I would definitely stay at this hotel again the next time I go to Austin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Mark,
It means a lot to get a review from such a seasoned business traveler. I know how hard it is to be on the road as often as every other week and we work hard to make our hotel a home away from home. Thank you for your business and for your review. We look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was staying here for a conference in January and my room was provided to me by the society hosting the meeting. It was a really great location, only a few steps from the convention center and only a few blocks from the entertainment of 6th Street! The breakfast was good, and the food at Happy Hour was also good! The alcohol selection at Happy Hour, though, wasn't the best, so I ended up opting for water sometimes.

The staff is very attentive to your needs and goes out of your way making sure you have a good stay. If you have the chance to stay here during your next meeting at the Austin Convention Center, try staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
jcrespo21,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Since your visit in January we have begun to alternate our beer and wine selection for the Residence Inn Social hour on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. On behalf of all of our associates we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for a conference at the convention center, which is a very close walk. While staff was kind and gracious, I found myself having to call more than I'd like. For one, the lid of the coffee pot carafe was broken, so the unit needed to be exchanged. Old coffee grounds were under the machine when I moved it to install the new model. There were also no trash bags in the room , and a previous guest had left a half-eaten container of cream cheese in the fridge that housekeeping hadn't bothered to remove. What's more, I requested additional face cloths and it took nearly an hour for their delivery. A housekeeping cart stood in front of the hotel lobby elevators when I came in one evening well after 5PM, and the sound of a vaccuum could be heard in the hall well past what should be standard cleaning hours. The room was also always somewhat muggy no matter how low I set the temperature. I probably wouldn't stay here again; the only plus is easy access to the convention center.

Room Tip: Nearby is one of the best P.F. Changs I've ever visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Pumpkin73,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with me. Our goal is the be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and we obviously did not execute the second in your room. Such misses are unacceptable and I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping team and work to eliminate such errors. Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to an opportunity to entertain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a good and free breakfast, a good location in downtown. Our room was very clean and spacious. The only disappointing thing in the 203 room was the bed that needs to be changed ; it seems that its springs are broken, so we were not comfortable all the night long. That's a shame for an hotel like this one, don't you think ? Too bad !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Isabelle F,
Thank you for staying with us and for letting me know about the spring in the bed. I will have my team address this first thing. Again thank you so much for your review and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were in Austin just for a stopover-driving home from the coast with our dog and toddler. We wanted a place near the Austin Children's Museum, wanted to be able to walk to dinner, wanted free breakfast and wanted a place where our dog was welcomed. These were the criteria and we were glad to have chosen the Residence Inn. Because of other reviews, we knew to ask for a room on a high level. The noise was a factor, especially so this weekend because of a motorcycle event. They offered earplugs at the front desk. But because we were on a high floor, it didn't keep us up all night. My 2 year old slept through all the traffic noise.

The pet fee was $100 and they do charge it. (Other places we've stayed say they have a fee, but don't implement it.) That is expensive, but not that much more expensive than the pet fee at other area hotels. The pet fee at another hotel we considered was $75, but didn't offer free breakfast, and wasn't walking distance to the places we wanted to go, so we figured it was about even.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. It was free for Residence Inn guests. For people not staying in the hotel, it's $13 per person-it's in the Champions restaurant. Tons of selection, lots of fruit, eggs, chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, etc etc.

I would stay there again. The rooms are clean, comfy, and big.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor-the street (traffic, people partying on 6th street) can get loud. We m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Patricia T,
I am glad you and your family had a great time in Austin and we were able to be a part of it. We look forward to being your hotel of choice for many visits to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballwin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am in town for 3 weeks staying at the Residence Inn Austin Downtown. I can't say enough about this hotel and the staff. Susanna has gone over and above "exceptional service". She has pointed me in the right direction for recreation, made sure I stayed hydrated, lets me know about all hotel services and amenities such as baggage storage and complimentary Tide and Bounce for laundry. She even took the time to FaceTime with my daughter at home. Being away for 3 weeks was scary, but staying here has made me feel very at home. Thank you Residence Inn and Susanna! - Becky

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. South faces the lake and north faces the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
rlopanec,
Thank you for taking time to post your review and for sharing your kind words about our amazing associates. I have shared you comments with all of them and especially Susanna! Thank you letting us make you feel like family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Residence Inn Austin Downtown
Residence Inn Austin
Austin Residence Inn
Address: 300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Austin
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.