We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #49 of 184 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boulder
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great property if you are here for a convention. Two hotels in one, you pick if you need a room or suite. I stayed on the Residence Inn side and enjoyed the extra space and included breakfast, which was better than the usual Residence Inn fare. Extra afternoon snacks, good little gym and small market made it a good stay. I will stay here again in January.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put on the second floor. The gym and pool creates a lot of traffic one that floor. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
ocean35,

We are ready to entertain in January! Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to provide a reveiw.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    89
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
64
18
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent five days in Austin with my grown daughters. This hotel was in a wonderful location--we walked all around--SoCo, Sixth Street and vicinity, West 6th street, just about to the capitol. Very easy to navigate. Room was clean--and had refrigerator, stove and microwave! Breakfast buffet was included and was varied and delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Housekeeping in this hotel responded more quickly than at other high end chains. Great all around!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are better, especially at night when 6th Street can get a little rowdy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
travelmf82,

We thank you for your review but are more excited that you had a great time with your daughters! We often get caught up and don't get to make as many memories as we would like. The fact that we can be a part of such important family time puts a smile on the face of every associate in the hotel. Thank you again for enjoying a great family weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel. First it has easy access to the capitol metro station, just around the corner (bus from and to the airport). Check in was fast and the personal was very attentive. We stayed for about 5 nights and the room was perfect. Comfy beds, great bath products( Paul Mitchell) and the beds were delightful. The residence inn get free breakfast buffet on Champions ( in the same hotel) and it was a very varied buffet...just delicious. They also have a social hour with free beer and snacks which was very good. I completely recommend this hotel to anyone. Its just steps away from the convention center and the party on 6th street. I would say, perfect location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
LoryRB
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. All of our Associates thank you for your business and look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Austin weekend with my lady and some friends. Lucky enough that our friend got a two-bedroom suite at a great price. Central location a few minutes walk from the restaurants and night spots in downtown Austin. Short drive to SoCo as well. Clean, spacious rooms. Good shower. Excellent complementary breakfast. Valet parking a little chaotic!! Good spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
So glad you had a great girls weekend in the Music Capital. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Marriott never disappoints. Is hotel is conveniently located near the convention centre and the exciting 6th Street activities. Greeted by friendly, welcoming staff who can't do enough for you. The hotel is modern, upbeat and clean as a whistle. Will definitely return.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Canuck 572
Thank you for selecting us as your hotel of choice while in Austin. Our location and hotel is only topped by our amazing associates. They are at your service with a smile for each and eveyr guest. We look forward to your next trip to Texas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This Marriott property is only two blocks from the hopping, sixth street district and excellent restaurants. It's a combination--Residence Inn on the left, Courtyard on the right...the bar in the Courtyard side is excellent...big bar, good drink menu. Rooms are nicely appointed, everything you expect from Marriott; valet parking and super friendly staff....and, there's a little Starbucks in the Courtyard end as well. Great value for a great location. Nothing to complain about from my group. We had a 2 Br Suite in the Residence Inn....the living area is small, but adequate for two couples..and splitting the cost of the suite vs. two separate rooms gave us spending money for Sixth Street.

Room Tip: There is some construction going on about a block away and my bedroom had one window wall facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Gary307

Thank you for spending the weekend with us! We are so glad to hear you had a great time with your friends! We will be ready for you on your next trip to the Music Capitol of the World!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was there for business. The hotel was clean and the service you recieve is beyond what you would get at a 5-star hotel. We had many people greet us all the time. The fresh-squeezed watermelon and pineapple juice and cookies were delicous! The breakfast and evening reception was beyond my expectations. The employees really cared about your stay. The only compliant I had was that they put me on the side of the hotel where the club music played loudly until 2:00 am. I also got woken up by the drunk guests returning to their rooms one night. They offered me another room but I refused because of the inconvenience of packing and unpacking again; I opted for earplugs instead. They followed up twice with the situation which I appreciated.

I would definitely stay there again but would request a room away from the clubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
chicbiscut,

Thank you for taking time to recognize the genuine care of our staff. They take pride in making every guest feel like they are family. We do appologies for the behavior of the guests that disturbed you durring the evening. We do not accept such behavior and will amp up our efforts to curtail . Thank you again for your business, we will look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 East 4th Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Austin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#34 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.