We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in downtown Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in downtown Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Love staying here. Clean rooms, clean modern lobby, very helpful staff. 2 blocks from 6th street and some great restaurants. Only downside is the breakfast, it is set up as a buffet and they need to advertise it is not complimentary. They need to make that clear that the breakfast set up is not included. Will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
aggiefan92,
Thank you for staying with us again and for taking time to post your review. For your next stay there is an options to include breakfast with your room. When you make your reservation online or one the phone we do sell a room with breakfast included package. Along with the breakfast package there are often other seasonal packages that you may be interested in choosing. We like our the guest to be able to book the best package for their needs. We look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
40
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came out to Austin for several days of fun.

The courtyard and Residence Inn share the same building. The lobby is well maintained and our room was cleaned everyday.

This place is right in the heart of the city. 2 blocks away from the dirty 6 and close enough to get to anywhere else downtown by foot or a quick cab ride.

The towels were cheap. The breakfast buffet was ok, but nothing to write home about.

Kiara and several other of the front desk ladies were really nice throughout our stay.

At night, they must have issues with younger crowds as they have a police officer and security barricade the front doors. You have to show a key to get in. There are even signs posted in the lobby about being kicked out for noise. I thought that was a bit extreme, but maybe it is a big issue.

The gym is nice enough to get a good workout in and they also have an indoor pool and jacuzzi.

Overall, a decent hotel in a great location but nothing really Wow about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Chris P,
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for submitting your review. We are all pleased you enjoyed the hotel and will share your kind words about the associates that are ever present in the lobby. As you mentioned we are just a few blocks off of 6th Street and with so many bars in a few short blocks we do enforce quiet hours in the hotel. We have the quiet hours so that our guests are able to get a good nights rest and we utilize the key check so that our hotel is not the 'after party' like the rest of the hotels in Austin. Thank you again for staying with us while in Austin we do hope to entertain in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

In Austin for first time, and bad part is only one night. Great hotel, walking distance to music, & great restaurants. Hotel was extremely clean , staff was friendly and helpful. Great breakfast in the morning with hot or cold foods, plenty to choose from. Gym was well equipped, for good work out. Pool was only big enough for a few laps, and hot tub was available Overall great place, I wish my stay was longer; very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
1Paigekan,
Thank you for staying with us and enjoying our amazing city. We look forward to having you back when you return to explore more of what Austin has to offer. We appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is my first time staying at Courtyard by Marriott at 300 E. 4th Street. Courtyard Austin/Downtown Convention Center is co-located with Residence Inn. Both hotels are in the same address and share the same amenities: Starbucks, Champion's Restaurant, pool area, and parking area. However, each hotel has its own dedicated service desk, elevator, and business center.

While Residence Inn is designed for long-term stays and is pet friendly, Courtyard is designed for short-term and often overnight stays only. Although each hotel is virtually next to each other on the same address, Courtyard is usually $15-20 higher-priced than Residence Inn's daily rate.

PARKING -- for this visit, I chose to use the self-service parking. I encountered no issue with this service. The parking pass key (separate from the hotel key) worked well as I exited and re-entered the garage multiple times during my stay.

FRONT DESK/CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER - excellent job by both the check-in (night staff) and check-out (day staff) staff during my stay! As I checked in, I was greeted quickly by one of the staff but was placed on a several minute hold while she finished her phone call with another customer. When she finally able to check me in, she acknowledged that I was a Marriott Rewards member with silver status. She thanked me for choosing the hotel and asked where I was coming from and how my trip was. She was very friendly and polite to me, checked me in swiftly, and even showed and walked me to the elevator area. The hotel was not very busy during my check-in process and what this staff did added a more welcoming experience for me.
When I checked out, I used the expressed service, but two staff where standing by the front desk greeting everyone a "good morning" and waved me goodbye and also thanked me for staying at Courtyard. Great service, excellent job from both staff!

SLEEP QUALITY -- when I slept at Residence Inn, I had an issue with drunk people coming in around the hallway and interrupting my sleep at around 0200 or 0300 in the morning. At Courtyard, I requested to be at a high floor and was placed in one of the rooms in 7th floor. I did not have any interruption in my sleep and actually had a very comfortable sleep during the night that I stayed here.

HOTEL LOCATION -- excellent hotel location as it is near very nice restaurants and near the entertainment night life offered by "6th Street." The entertainment site (live music, dance, clubs, foods, etc.) is of walking distance and the hotel is easy to find back as it towers around its own location (just look up, find the sign "Courtyard/Residence Inn" and literally drunk-walk towards the sign.

BREAKFAST -- this hotel, like its sister hotel Residence Inn, offers free breakfast but I was not able to utilize this service because I had to leave early and was running a little bit late for my next agenda. When I stayed at Residence Inn, however, I experience excellent breakfast there and the good memory of that still carries on with me.

Room Tip: Choose a high-level floor for a quieter and more comfortable sleep. The higher the floor, the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Tony,
Thank you for taking time to post your TripAdvisor review. All of the associates here at the hotel genuinely appreciate your business. We look forward to entertaining in the future. One clarification: the Courtyard has two Packages to choose from. One is for room only and the second is a breakfast package. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here on our last trip to Austin and it worked out perfectly. It is in a great location and you can get anywhere in the city quickly from here. The rooms were what you would expect. Nothing over the top but still very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning and the sports bar wasn't a bad place to grab a drink if you have a few minutes to kill. The front desk staff was very friendly and attentive. It was a great stay. We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Austin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
WkEndWarrior2013,
Thank you for taking time to post your review and for choosing our hotel for you trip to Austin. We do hope to become your go to hotel here in Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Downtown Austin is where the music is (on 6th street), where the convention center is, where the restaurants are (all over), and the Courtyard Austin Downtown Marriott is. This Courtyard is a high-rise unlike the more suburban Courtyard Marriott hotels. This Courtyard is also paired with a Marriott Residence Inn, which makes for a peculiar layout with two connected, side-by-side lobbies. However, the people behind the desk are super nice, super friendly. The attached Champions Sports Bar has great food and is very comfortable (and draws a happy nightly crowd).

The room is standard Marriott Courtyard, which means it is very nice, very clean, and pretty darn comfortable. I was attending a conference at the convention center, which is just out the front door of the Courtyard Austin Downtown, turn left, walk half a block, and cross the not-very-busy street. Only one other hotel is closer, and I heard bad reports about it during my stay.

I'm big on breakfasts and this Courtyard Marriott serves it in the Champion's Sports Bar. $10 gets you hot or cold cereal, bread, sweet rolls, juice, and coffee. It's a bargain for a hotel breakfast. If you're staying at the attached Residence Inn, it's free.

My rate was $149 a night, which was the lowest of the convention hotels. Overall, this stay was a big bargain for me. Recommended.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view. There are three elevators, so very little waiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
sleibson,
Thank you so much for taking time to post your review. Also, your kind words about our amazing associates are greatly appreciated. They work hard each day and are always available with their genuinely friendly service. Thank you for staying with us and we do look forward to entertaining in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great stay! Was running late for a meeting at the convention center, literally had to throw my keys and luggage at valet/concierge.they were awesome and took care of me. They had everything ready when I returned. Very comfortable sleep, safe location, great service. Will stay here again. Within walking distance of sixth street, the bats, and a whole lot more. There is a restaurant and a Starbucks in the lobby. The only negative is the Hallway smells a little moldy...but the rooms are very clean.

Green Features: To be Eco friendly and you don't need extra towels, they will ensure your towels be used again. Of course if your towel are on the floor, you will have clean towels. There are signs depicting this in the bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
cyn_mgmt1 ,
Thank you for posting your review. I will make sure our team looks at the airflow in the halls to ensure they stay fresh in our summer heat. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you are in Austin. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#50 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.