We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tempted to give it 5 stars...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #70 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Tempted to give it 5 stars...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a fantastic Courtyard in downtown Austin.

First off, it's not like any other Courtyard I've stayed in. It's more like a flagship Marriott.

Location - There isn't much more to say about the location that hasn't already been said - it's perfect. Easy walk to pretty much anything downtown.

Parking - I self-parked for $23 a day. In/out privileges. Easy access to the elevator on each floor of parking.

Room - BIG room. We were on the corner and there was an entry "hall" into the room. It was huge. Great TV (we commented on how great the picture was). Quiet and clean. The bathroom was nicely equipped as well.

I cannot imagine staying anywhere other than the Courtyard next time I am in downtown Austin.

(I used certificates so my value was Infinity.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
davechri,
Wow...Thank you for posting your review. I will share your cmments with then entire team. They always try to be 5 stars and your next visit I am sure they will exceed expectations.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
31
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

As others have posted, the location can't be beat. Especially if you are going to the convention center (across the street) or want to check out 6th Street (two short blocks away).

Breakfast at Champions off the lobby is cheap ($10-$11), but it's a fairly basic buffet.

The only negative I experienced was noise. Other reviews have noted it too. There was a bit of noise from passers by in the hallway. However, I had a connecting room and the noise level coming through the door from the next room was unacceptable. Fortunately my neighbors were quiet, for the most part. But I woke up every morning when they turned on their TV, and woke up every night when they came in and had just normal volume conversations. The door didn't block any noise; I woke up thinking someone was standing at the foot of my bed having a conversation.

I did ask the next morning to be moved but was told the hotel was full and to ask again later.

Because of the noise issues, I don't think I would stay here again. If I did, I would make sure to not be assigned a connecting room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
DCA,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while at the convention. We appreciate your business. I will be sure to look into the conecting doors and what can be done to prevent further noise. We keep our team deployed on the guest room floors to help remind the party goers that there are others sleeping. We do hope you give us another try when you are back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The courtyard has such a good location you almost feel like you can stay at the hotel and still be in the middle of all the action. It's very clean and the staff serves at a higher level than expected in a courtyard. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The onside Starbucks and champions sports bar are a nice addition to the usual courtyard lobby dining. Nice fitness center, too. Great value for the location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Chip,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your business and thank you for the kinds words recognizing our associates. They are top notch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, only 2 blocks from 6th steet, within walking distance to various restaurants. Champions Grill and Starbucks located on site. Nice fitness center. The staff was very helpful and willing to help. The rooms are OK, but a good location for having business meetings. The food was very good and the waitstaff very very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
TexasTravelers3423,
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our amazing and hard working associates. They are truly hospitality people that strive to extend thier genuine care to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are travelling to downtown Austin for business or you are looking to enjoy 6th street, this hotel is a good spot. It is actually connected to the Renaissance next door and both offer clean, quality rooms that you expect from the Marriott chain. the fitness center (located on 2nd floor of Renaissance for both hotels) iis nicer than most similar hotels with a good number of cardio machines, a dumbell rack, and a few weight machines, plus an attached pool/spa that overlooks the city. the rooms themselve are large, with good work space, and a nice bathroom.

It's a bit pricier than some other courtyards ($170-250/night while I was here in mid-jan) and valet parking was pretty steep ($30+/night), but given the location, you cant go wrong here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
thehelpfuldad,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We will always look forward to entertaining whenever you are in Austin. Most hotels in Austin only offer a valet option for parking but we do extend two options $23 for covered garage parking with unlimited in and out and $29 for valet services. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located 5 min walk from famous 6th street and easy to get to from highways. Staff is very kind, from parking, front desk and restaurant. Gold members are welcomed with little gift. Rooms are outstanding, hotel is very new so that helps. If there is one downside, when staying during the weekend there are some younger party guests which can make some noice. Your choice to join the party or not. I enjoyed the stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Wereldreiziger98,

We appreciate your business and hope to entertain you and your friends for years to come. From restaurants to nighlife and the convention center there is no better location in Austin to conduct business or to enjoy the music and nightlife in Austin. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is located cattycorner to the convention center and the downtown light rail stop; within two blocks you are at the 6th Street district with its various music and food venues for most tastes and budgets, a little bit past that but still an easy walk are the downtown business and government areas; all of that making it a very good site for activity around downtown (though the site is such that the public entrances and exits face in the direction of the convention center so you get to walk around the block to get headed for most other things).

It is set up and equipped as one would expect of the Courtyard brand; not posh but well furnished and maintained. The staff has a good service orientation, arrival and departure processes and arrangements for transportation were handled efficiently.

I have observed this more frequently when staying in newer convention-district Marriott properties: two brands in the same building structure, entered through separate lobbies, so as to serve two markets. In this case this Courtyard shares its building with a Residence Inn; the Courtyard side includes meeting/activity facilities and the Champions Grill and Starbucks locations -- though with the many superior choices one has within a two to four block walk those will be likely just breakfast spots (for which Champions substitutes for the "bistro" in other newer Courtyards).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
JRDelirious,
Thank you for taking time out of you day to review our hotel. As a senior contributer we always enjoy your expert feedback. Our newly remodeled Courtyard provides the business and leisure traveler with all the features to maintain your balance while away from home. Along with the best location in Downtown Austin we are ready to be of assistance with any requests or reccomendations yo umay have. Thank you again and best travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Courtyard Austin Downtown
Courtyard Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#62 Business Hotel in Austin
#70 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#71 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.