We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #55 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The courtyard has such a good location you almost feel like you can stay at the hotel and still be in the middle of all the action. It's very clean and the staff serves at a higher level than expected in a courtyard. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The onside Starbucks and champions sports bar are a nice addition to the usual courtyard lobby dining. Nice fitness center, too. Great value for the location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Chip,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your business and thank you for the kinds words recognizing our associates. They are top notch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    96
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
33
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location, only 2 blocks from 6th steet, within walking distance to various restaurants. Champions Grill and Starbucks located on site. Nice fitness center. The staff was very helpful and willing to help. The rooms are OK, but a good location for having business meetings. The food was very good and the waitstaff very very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
TexasTravelers3423,
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our amazing and hard working associates. They are truly hospitality people that strive to extend thier genuine care to each and every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

If you are travelling to downtown Austin for business or you are looking to enjoy 6th street, this hotel is a good spot. It is actually connected to the Renaissance next door and both offer clean, quality rooms that you expect from the Marriott chain. the fitness center (located on 2nd floor of Renaissance for both hotels) iis nicer than most similar hotels with a good number of cardio machines, a dumbell rack, and a few weight machines, plus an attached pool/spa that overlooks the city. the rooms themselve are large, with good work space, and a nice bathroom.

It's a bit pricier than some other courtyards ($170-250/night while I was here in mid-jan) and valet parking was pretty steep ($30+/night), but given the location, you cant go wrong here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
thehelpfuldad,
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We will always look forward to entertaining whenever you are in Austin. Most hotels in Austin only offer a valet option for parking but we do extend two options $23 for covered garage parking with unlimited in and out and $29 for valet services. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located 5 min walk from famous 6th street and easy to get to from highways. Staff is very kind, from parking, front desk and restaurant. Gold members are welcomed with little gift. Rooms are outstanding, hotel is very new so that helps. If there is one downside, when staying during the weekend there are some younger party guests which can make some noice. Your choice to join the party or not. I enjoyed the stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Wereldreiziger98,

We appreciate your business and hope to entertain you and your friends for years to come. From restaurants to nighlife and the convention center there is no better location in Austin to conduct business or to enjoy the music and nightlife in Austin. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is located cattycorner to the convention center and the downtown light rail stop; within two blocks you are at the 6th Street district with its various music and food venues for most tastes and budgets, a little bit past that but still an easy walk are the downtown business and government areas; all of that making it a very good site for activity around downtown (though the site is such that the public entrances and exits face in the direction of the convention center so you get to walk around the block to get headed for most other things).

It is set up and equipped as one would expect of the Courtyard brand; not posh but well furnished and maintained. The staff has a good service orientation, arrival and departure processes and arrangements for transportation were handled efficiently.

I have observed this more frequently when staying in newer convention-district Marriott properties: two brands in the same building structure, entered through separate lobbies, so as to serve two markets. In this case this Courtyard shares its building with a Residence Inn; the Courtyard side includes meeting/activity facilities and the Champions Grill and Starbucks locations -- though with the many superior choices one has within a two to four block walk those will be likely just breakfast spots (for which Champions substitutes for the "bistro" in other newer Courtyards).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
JRDelirious,
Thank you for taking time out of you day to review our hotel. As a senior contributer we always enjoy your expert feedback. Our newly remodeled Courtyard provides the business and leisure traveler with all the features to maintain your balance while away from home. Along with the best location in Downtown Austin we are ready to be of assistance with any requests or reccomendations yo umay have. Thank you again and best travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You would think to expect high quality and class with a brand name of Marriott, but this hotel went above and beyond with the way they treated us. Upon check in we were helped by "Ben" this gentlemen was a pleasure to talk with and give us advice on sights to see in town and told us to call him if we had any other questions or concerns. The rooms were your basic upgraded courtyard branded rooms, with comfy beds and plenty of space to store your luggage and other travel items. The one thing I would recommend to any courtyard brand is MORE PLUG INS, with all of the electronics that are out there you would think there would be more plug ins around the bed area, but each courtyard I have stayed at they have lacked a vast amount of plug ins. The staff was terrific greeting us even when we were leaving the hotel for the day to explore the city. I was pleasantly surprised the even the valet staff as we were walking out of the hotel greeted us with a pleasant hello or have a great day. Hard to find a hotel staff that even the valet staff will greet you with a pleasant hotel. The hotel interior had a modern sleek look to it and seemed to sparkle at every point. I would definitely recommend anyone who is looking for a location close to 6th street to stay here as well as a central location for all things downtown Austin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
oregonadventurer66,

Reviews from Senior contributers are always read with great attention! Thank you for taking time to celebrate our associates that made your stay amazing! Each and every associate on our team makes our hotel special and they sure know how to make our guests feel special! We look forward to you and your familly enjoying years of spectacular stays with Marriott and of course our hotel here in Austin! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and cannot fault anything about this hotel. Room was spacious, comfortable and impeccably clean on arrival and throughout my stay. Hotel facilities are superb as is the location. For a tourist without transportation, everything is easily accessible on foot or by bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel! We do hope to remain your hotel of choice when visiting Austin. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Quiet, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Convention Center
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#53 of 183 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Quiet, Pool, Ch...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Austin
#44 Family Hotel in Austin
#59 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.