We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #54 of 185 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrific Location and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

You would think to expect high quality and class with a brand name of Marriott, but this hotel went above and beyond with the way they treated us. Upon check in we were helped by "Ben" this gentlemen was a pleasure to talk with and give us advice on sights to see in town and told us to call him if we had any other questions or concerns. The rooms were your basic upgraded courtyard branded rooms, with comfy beds and plenty of space to store your luggage and other travel items. The one thing I would recommend to any courtyard brand is MORE PLUG INS, with all of the electronics that are out there you would think there would be more plug ins around the bed area, but each courtyard I have stayed at they have lacked a vast amount of plug ins. The staff was terrific greeting us even when we were leaving the hotel for the day to explore the city. I was pleasantly surprised the even the valet staff as we were walking out of the hotel greeted us with a pleasant hello or have a great day. Hard to find a hotel staff that even the valet staff will greet you with a pleasant hotel. The hotel interior had a modern sleek look to it and seemed to sparkle at every point. I would definitely recommend anyone who is looking for a location close to 6th street to stay here as well as a central location for all things downtown Austin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
oregonadventurer66,

Reviews from Senior contributers are always read with great attention! Thank you for taking time to celebrate our associates that made your stay amazing! Each and every associate on our team makes our hotel special and they sure know how to make our guests feel special! We look forward to you and your familly enjoying years of spectacular stays with Marriott and of course our hotel here in Austin! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    99
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
37
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Recently stayed here for 3 nights and cannot fault anything about this hotel. Room was spacious, comfortable and impeccably clean on arrival and throughout my stay. Hotel facilities are superb as is the location. For a tourist without transportation, everything is easily accessible on foot or by bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel! We do hope to remain your hotel of choice when visiting Austin. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights, two adults and two teens. We had a spacious corner room. Hotel is impeccably clean. Staff is terrific. Location is right near the convention center and surrounded by many restaurants and stores that tourists typically need. It is within walking distance also of the 2nd Ave district and the bars and music joints. Our room was on the 11th floor with a great view of downtown. I did not use the hotel pool or fitness room but did take a look at them -- they are pretty nice. The hotel pool and fitness center are in the Residence Inn adjoining this Courtyard but there are interior doors on all levels connecting the two properties (they are really just like one big hotel). Unfortunately, only the Residence Inn guests get the free breakfast included at Champtions (a dark paneled restaurant on the ground floor. Looked nice). The Courtyard guests have to pay about $10 a person for the same meal. Our room did have a fridge and a microwave so we made use of this to store some light snacks and drinks. They also put out free coffee/tea service in the mornings in the lobby. Good wifi, free. Overall, beautiful property. Just wish we could have gotten the breakfast like they did next door.

Room Tip: Get a high room and you get a beautiful city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw of the hotel. We are all pleased you had a good time in Ausitn with your family. For you next stay please look at the room options as our Courtyard hotel also has packages available that do include breakfast. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is on 4th Street, two blocks from the fame 6th Street. Our room faced 7th street and we heard the festivites until 2am. The room is nice and clean. But that noise was a big issue. Also the parking garage is tight and not truck/SUV friendly. If you are coming to Austin to party then this is a good hotel to stay in, but if you are coming to relax, you will not be able to till after 2am.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for a room facing fourth street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to reveiw our hotel. As a hotel a clean room and a good nights sleep are top priorities. I am sorry we did not deliver on the second. While Austins is a business town on the weekdays the nightlife and entertainment is the largest draw on the weekend. We do our very best to keep the party outside by using our "no party" policies and signs thru the entire hotel along with several security patrols on the floors and front door to assist in keeping the noise off of the guest floors. If you are ever disturbed by a neighbor please let us know and we will immedialty send hotel associates to remedy the situation. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to have the oppertunity to enteratin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful staff, great location. Fun lobby, very thoughtful flight check-in terminal, great exercise room. Rooms are very comfortable with modern bed. Great great views, a little pricey though.

From here on out i am trying to meet the 200 character minimum, I hope all find this helpful :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
ryanrico,

Thank you for taking time to review our newly remodeled hotel. Your business is truly appreciated by each and every associate in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was well-appointed and looks new- the carpet, the sheets, curtains and the rest of the furniture and fixture. I was actually surprised as the pictures on their site feature old style sheets, carpet and furniture pieces. I guess they updated their rooms recently to make it a little hip. Also the room was clean and the bathroom toilet, curtains, sink, vanity - were all clean. I loved the room and look forward to our stay. We checked in from Nov. 16- 20,2012. The only thing disappointing was we were given the third floor room which is but on the same level as that of their a/c units, not to mention that if you want to let light through the room by parting the curtains, you see your next door neighbors from the other units. So we just let the curtains cover the "view." We asked for a higher floor, but since it was the week of the F1 race, all the rooms were fully booked. Around 3:00 am of the 18th, there was a little noise I heard from outside, which made me woke up. I saw that there was some light going through the window so I managed to adjust the curtain and by chance, as I am pulling the curtains, I saw one of the guests' window was cracked fully opened. I was thinking, were they smoking in their room or were they hanging outside by the a/c units? This was not good. The as I was trying to fix the curtain and so as not to compromise our privacy, a woman popped out of the open window and probably saw me and I can see her forming an obscene f- word at me! That was unacceptable at all! I am going to report this to the front desk when we check-out. Also, the when people are passing by the hallway, you could clearly hear what they are talking about. It would had been perfect if not for this, the incident and the view...

Room Tip: Upon check in, ask for a higher floor and not close to the ice maker and the vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
truthintraveling,
Thank you for taking staying with us and for writing your review on TripAdvisor.
Wow, I am truley sorry about the person in the other window. I will look with my director of engineering for ways to improve that corner room privacy. I am happy the balance of your stay was excellent and we all look forward to the oppertunity to be of service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Friendly staff and a nice location. Prices spiked during the F1 weekend, so I can't say it was a good value. But easy walking distance to everything downtown - and very quiet! Rooms are pretty standard for a business hotel.

There is a Starbucks and a Champions in the lobby - which is very convenient for coffee and/or a quick bite to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
RedMustang56,
First, Love your TripAdvisor handle! More importantly, thank you for your business and for taking time to post a review on you recent visit! F1 was an amazing event and having the Fan Fest just down the street was fantastic! We look forward to being you choice hotel while in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#46 Family Hotel in Austin
#58 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.