We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Nice Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #70 of 182 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
philadelphia, pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here a couple of nights, two adults and two teens. We had a spacious corner room. Hotel is impeccably clean. Staff is terrific. Location is right near the convention center and surrounded by many restaurants and stores that tourists typically need. It is within walking distance also of the 2nd Ave district and the bars and music joints. Our room was on the 11th floor with a great view of downtown. I did not use the hotel pool or fitness room but did take a look at them -- they are pretty nice. The hotel pool and fitness center are in the Residence Inn adjoining this Courtyard but there are interior doors on all levels connecting the two properties (they are really just like one big hotel). Unfortunately, only the Residence Inn guests get the free breakfast included at Champtions (a dark paneled restaurant on the ground floor. Looked nice). The Courtyard guests have to pay about $10 a person for the same meal. Our room did have a fridge and a microwave so we made use of this to store some light snacks and drinks. They also put out free coffee/tea service in the mornings in the lobby. Good wifi, free. Overall, beautiful property. Just wish we could have gotten the breakfast like they did next door.

Room Tip: Get a high room and you get a beautiful city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw of the hotel. We are all pleased you had a good time in Ausitn with your family. For you next stay please look at the room options as our Courtyard hotel also has packages available that do include breakfast. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
27
31
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, TX
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel is on 4th Street, two blocks from the fame 6th Street. Our room faced 7th street and we heard the festivites until 2am. The room is nice and clean. But that noise was a big issue. Also the parking garage is tight and not truck/SUV friendly. If you are coming to Austin to party then this is a good hotel to stay in, but if you are coming to relax, you will not be able to till after 2am.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for a room facing fourth street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to reveiw our hotel. As a hotel a clean room and a good nights sleep are top priorities. I am sorry we did not deliver on the second. While Austins is a business town on the weekdays the nightlife and entertainment is the largest draw on the weekend. We do our very best to keep the party outside by using our "no party" policies and signs thru the entire hotel along with several security patrols on the floors and front door to assist in keeping the noise off of the guest floors. If you are ever disturbed by a neighbor please let us know and we will immedialty send hotel associates to remedy the situation. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to have the oppertunity to enteratin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful staff, great location. Fun lobby, very thoughtful flight check-in terminal, great exercise room. Rooms are very comfortable with modern bed. Great great views, a little pricey though.

From here on out i am trying to meet the 200 character minimum, I hope all find this helpful :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
ryanrico,

Thank you for taking time to review our newly remodeled hotel. Your business is truly appreciated by each and every associate in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis,
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was well-appointed and looks new- the carpet, the sheets, curtains and the rest of the furniture and fixture. I was actually surprised as the pictures on their site feature old style sheets, carpet and furniture pieces. I guess they updated their rooms recently to make it a little hip. Also the room was clean and the bathroom toilet, curtains, sink, vanity - were all clean. I loved the room and look forward to our stay. We checked in from Nov. 16- 20,2012. The only thing disappointing was we were given the third floor room which is but on the same level as that of their a/c units, not to mention that if you want to let light through the room by parting the curtains, you see your next door neighbors from the other units. So we just let the curtains cover the "view." We asked for a higher floor, but since it was the week of the F1 race, all the rooms were fully booked. Around 3:00 am of the 18th, there was a little noise I heard from outside, which made me woke up. I saw that there was some light going through the window so I managed to adjust the curtain and by chance, as I am pulling the curtains, I saw one of the guests' window was cracked fully opened. I was thinking, were they smoking in their room or were they hanging outside by the a/c units? This was not good. The as I was trying to fix the curtain and so as not to compromise our privacy, a woman popped out of the open window and probably saw me and I can see her forming an obscene f- word at me! That was unacceptable at all! I am going to report this to the front desk when we check-out. Also, the when people are passing by the hallway, you could clearly hear what they are talking about. It would had been perfect if not for this, the incident and the view...

Room Tip: Upon check in, ask for a higher floor and not close to the ice maker and the vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
truthintraveling,
Thank you for taking staying with us and for writing your review on TripAdvisor.
Wow, I am truley sorry about the person in the other window. I will look with my director of engineering for ways to improve that corner room privacy. I am happy the balance of your stay was excellent and we all look forward to the oppertunity to be of service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Friendly staff and a nice location. Prices spiked during the F1 weekend, so I can't say it was a good value. But easy walking distance to everything downtown - and very quiet! Rooms are pretty standard for a business hotel.

There is a Starbucks and a Champions in the lobby - which is very convenient for coffee and/or a quick bite to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
RedMustang56,
First, Love your TripAdvisor handle! More importantly, thank you for your business and for taking time to post a review on you recent visit! F1 was an amazing event and having the Fan Fest just down the street was fantastic! We look forward to being you choice hotel while in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel 2 days before our sudden trip to Austin. The location is just right at the heart of downtown, where 6th street, Capitol, warehouse & 2nd street district can be reached on foot. The room is clean and nice, not too fancy. Service is just okay. By the time we stayed the hotel was really crowded. The guests were coming for conference, I guess. I was hoping they put more people in concierge desk. It took us more than 15 mins to buy candy from the shop, because we have to pay it in the concierge. Overall, we would recommend people to stay here and book earlier to get better price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Intan W,
Thank you for your review. I will look at our Front Desk staffing durring our peak check in periods so we can expedite future market purchases. Agagin, thank you and we look forward to having you as a guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed between Oct 31-Nov 4th.

This hotel is perfect for your next trip to Austin whether it's business or pleasure. The hotel is located right across the street from the Convention Center. 2 Blocks from non stop entertainment of 6th Street and near many resturants. The staff was very professional. The room was nice, no complaints. Starbucks and Champions Resturant were located witihn the hotel, no issues with either one. If you're looking for a nice place to stay in Austin, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
njdrum,
I thank you for spending you time in Austin at our hotel. Our team looks forward to entertaining on your next visit to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Courtyard Austin Downtown
Courtyard Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#62 Business Hotel in Austin
#71 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.