We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #48 of 184 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
minneapolis,
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Almost perfect stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was well-appointed and looks new- the carpet, the sheets, curtains and the rest of the furniture and fixture. I was actually surprised as the pictures on their site feature old style sheets, carpet and furniture pieces. I guess they updated their rooms recently to make it a little hip. Also the room was clean and the bathroom toilet, curtains, sink, vanity - were all clean. I loved the room and look forward to our stay. We checked in from Nov. 16- 20,2012. The only thing disappointing was we were given the third floor room which is but on the same level as that of their a/c units, not to mention that if you want to let light through the room by parting the curtains, you see your next door neighbors from the other units. So we just let the curtains cover the "view." We asked for a higher floor, but since it was the week of the F1 race, all the rooms were fully booked. Around 3:00 am of the 18th, there was a little noise I heard from outside, which made me woke up. I saw that there was some light going through the window so I managed to adjust the curtain and by chance, as I am pulling the curtains, I saw one of the guests' window was cracked fully opened. I was thinking, were they smoking in their room or were they hanging outside by the a/c units? This was not good. The as I was trying to fix the curtain and so as not to compromise our privacy, a woman popped out of the open window and probably saw me and I can see her forming an obscene f- word at me! That was unacceptable at all! I am going to report this to the front desk when we check-out. Also, the when people are passing by the hallway, you could clearly hear what they are talking about. It would had been perfect if not for this, the incident and the view...

Room Tip: Upon check in, ask for a higher floor and not close to the ice maker and the vending machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
truthintraveling,
Thank you for taking staying with us and for writing your review on TripAdvisor.
Wow, I am truley sorry about the person in the other window. I will look with my director of engineering for ways to improve that corner room privacy. I am happy the balance of your stay was excellent and we all look forward to the oppertunity to be of service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    98
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
36
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Friendly staff and a nice location. Prices spiked during the F1 weekend, so I can't say it was a good value. But easy walking distance to everything downtown - and very quiet! Rooms are pretty standard for a business hotel.

There is a Starbucks and a Champions in the lobby - which is very convenient for coffee and/or a quick bite to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
RedMustang56,
First, Love your TripAdvisor handle! More importantly, thank you for your business and for taking time to post a review on you recent visit! F1 was an amazing event and having the Fan Fest just down the street was fantastic! We look forward to being you choice hotel while in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel 2 days before our sudden trip to Austin. The location is just right at the heart of downtown, where 6th street, Capitol, warehouse & 2nd street district can be reached on foot. The room is clean and nice, not too fancy. Service is just okay. By the time we stayed the hotel was really crowded. The guests were coming for conference, I guess. I was hoping they put more people in concierge desk. It took us more than 15 mins to buy candy from the shop, because we have to pay it in the concierge. Overall, we would recommend people to stay here and book earlier to get better price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Intan W,
Thank you for your review. I will look at our Front Desk staffing durring our peak check in periods so we can expedite future market purchases. Agagin, thank you and we look forward to having you as a guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed between Oct 31-Nov 4th.

This hotel is perfect for your next trip to Austin whether it's business or pleasure. The hotel is located right across the street from the Convention Center. 2 Blocks from non stop entertainment of 6th Street and near many resturants. The staff was very professional. The room was nice, no complaints. Starbucks and Champions Resturant were located witihn the hotel, no issues with either one. If you're looking for a nice place to stay in Austin, this is the one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
njdrum,
I thank you for spending you time in Austin at our hotel. Our team looks forward to entertaining on your next visit to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My son and I stayed here during Austin Comic Con due mainly to the location. The hotel is directly across the street from the Convention center and in the middle of downtown, so the location is ideal.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, but nothing extra ordinary. The housekeeping was very late in the afternoon, so plan on that. We wanted to rest during the afternoon after spending the morning at the convention center, but left when housekeeping arrived. Water pressure and hot water were fine.

We tried the local hotel restaurant the first night (Champions) and it was average. They have a nice bar with TVs, so it would make a good spot to drink and watch a game, but not for food. Luckily there are a ton of restaurants downtown, so you have a lot of choices for lunch and dinner. As for breakfast, there is a Starbucks attached to the hotel, so we had coffee and breakfast sandwiches there.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room away from the elevators. We found out that it can get noisy at night due to pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Norman M,
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit. When in town for next years Comic Con just let us know when you are going out for the day and we can have your room cleaned durring that time. Our Housekeepers start at 9am and finish their last rooms around 430pm but we are always ready to work with your schedule so you can get some well needed rest! In Champions we offer our daily menu along with our Seasonal menu that focuses on local produce and several healthy seasonal options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My stay at the Courtyard was quite nice. The location right in downtown Austin was just right for my business trip. Lots of dining choices nearby. Hotel service was great. There is a good amount of construction in downtown Austin right now, but you could still get around on-foot easily. This is a standard Courtyard except for the fact it adjoins a Residence Inn. The fitness center is located on the Residence Inn side and the Residence Inn side provides complimentary afternoon cookies for their guests. The Courtyard just has flavored water or coffee in for their guests. The Courtyard had some evening music in the lobby, a guitarist one night. That was fine, but it would be nice if they provided a manager's reception. (I was there two nights mid-week.)

Room Tip: If flying into the Austin airport, there is a $1 bus to downtown that drops off two blocks from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
lolawally,
Thank you for choosing to stay the Courtyard Downtown Austin. You found those Residence Inn Cookies! I will look into that mid week managers reception, great idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was a fairly typical Courtyard, which has come to mean updated, somewhat stylish, convenient, courteous, and well appointed. For a business class hotel, the better Courtyards are tough to beat, and this one is probably at the high-end of it's peers.

Located in the same building and immediately adjacent to a Residence Inn, the two properties are able to share each other's amenities. For example, they share a fitness center/pool/whirlpool area, which was one of the best I've seen in this class of hotel. The room was huge and featured up-to-date and functional equipment. Five treadmills, two recumbent bikes, three ellipticals, plus a full set of dumbbells and several weight machines.

The lobby was typical of an updated Courtyard, with their bistro serving coffee and food. However, this location is enhanced by having a full-scale Starbucks in the building as well as a Champions sports bar.

The staff was courteous and had the air of the staff at a premium hotel.

Parking might be tough, so plan on probably valeting your vehicle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
PromoRoadGuy,
We know how important it is for road warriors to keep thier life/work balance while on the road. That is why we focused our renovation on great rooms, well equipped fitness center and many healthy Food and beverage options. Our team was proud of your comment "The staff was courteous and had the air of the staff at a premium hotel". They know they work in a select service Courtyard and Residence Inn but they understand thier service can be as top notch as any hotel in town. Thank you for business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Austin
#45 Business Hotel in Austin
#49 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.