We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We traveled to Austin for a soccer tournament over the Labor day holiday, and stayed at the Downtown Courtyard. The hotel was very and convenient. The downtown location provided us with lots of options for lunch and dinner. The hotel has a sports bar/restaurant in it and the parents were able to hangout and watch some games in the bar. Our team played Saturday and Sunday but we were eliminated on Sunday afternoon and did not make the semi-finals. We all very much appreciated that the hotel was very flexible with our check-out schedule and allowed us a late check-out (our game did not finish until 2 pm on Sunday). This allowed us to go to the game and return to check-out rather than checking-out prior to the game (which would had been a hassle if we would have won and advanced to the semi-finals). Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
40
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I just stayed 2 nights (wed and thurs) . The hotel was in a great location not easily walkable to south congress location but that was not a night scene we were looking for. The hotel was good , the pool is pretty much non existent and the only downside to the ammenities. Overnight parking was 21 dollars a night non valet , which to us seemed reasonable. We came across a noisy bacherlorette party next to us on Thursday . Had to call down to the desk. While it was addressed by the security it continued including the ladies banging on our door after our complaint . Lovely. Maybe since we are a young couple they assumed we'd ve okay with the noise ? They weren't being that loud all things considering but the walls were thin. Not a good thing and happy we were not here for the weekend noise.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having lived in Austin, I knew this area well and thought that it would be a couple blocks from the noise of 6th Street, while still being walkable/in a good location for night life. I recommended the hotel to my family who was also visiting for a wedding.

Unfortunately, despite the hotel's "no noise" reminder signs at night and in spite of requesting a quiet room, there was plenty of partying. In fact, after a night out ourselves, I had to call the front desk at 2:30 a.m. to request for them to send a security guard to the area to quiet it down. The hotel seemed very responsive but, given their no noise tolerance and information about security as you check in, I think they should have been a little more attentive with security.

The room was fine - typical Courtyard by Marriott standards. As I've mentioned in previous reviews, I'm not a fan of their soap products which seemed to have changed (from the last time I've been to a Courtyard) to scentless no-name products.

We had to request a refrigerator which seemed strange, especially for a Courtyard that shares its space with a Residence Inn. One would think they'd have enough available to have them in stock?

Parking was unecessarily expensive in their garage so we ended up paying meters and parking on the street as much as we could and actually saved quite a bit of money doing that during our week's stay.

This hotel is right across from the convention center and very walkable to many great restaurants and bars so it's good for that - just don't expect an undisturbed night's sleep.

In fact, going back to the request for a quiet room - the clerk assigned us a room that faced a fire station across the street from the hotel. If the partying wasn't enough, the fire station completed it. Maybe it's too much to ask for the staff to be more informed as to the placement of businesses on the exterior? Either way, unfortunately, I won't be visiting this location again and don't think my family will be either.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for your reveiw. A good night of sleep is what we look to provide and I appologise for your family not attaining restful sleep immediatly. I do thank you for calling us quickly so our associates could eliminate the source of your disturbance immedialty. We are very serious about our No Party Policy and do not tolloerate noise after 11 am. We staff several associates who soley roam the hallways to eliminate any excessive noise in a very timely manner, like you experienced.
Also, as you noted, for our Courtyard rooms we do have mini refrigerators available upon request and are happy to deliver to your room. The Residence Inn suites are equiped with full size refrigerators.
Again, I appologies for the noise that woke you. I am glad we were able to rectify in a very timely manner.
We do look forward to the oppertunity to entertain in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The room was spacious and very nice. The location is very good.
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are located directly across from the Austin Convention Center in the heart of Downtown Austin. Parks, restaurants, museums and nightlife are only steps away from our front door. Thank you for staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed for one night in late July on our way back from South Padre Island. The location is great and is within walking distance to a lot of the downtown sites (or a short cab ride away). There is also a Starbucks right in the hotel (heaven!). We were on the east side of the building (facing I-35) on the 9th floor. It was very noisy, I constantly heard sirens (which is not the hotels fault just something to note). The beds were very soft and had impressions in them (I think they need new beds). The rooms were semi updated but for the most part seemed old especially the carpet. The room had a fridge which would come in handy for longer stays. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. Overall a good location and an okay property. I would probably not choose this property again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent visit to Austin. We are glad you enjoyed many of our hotels amenities but less than satisfied in the fact you were unable to enjoy a good nights rest. In the past few months we have installed flat screen TV's and added more executive upgrade rooms with refrigerators and microwaves. Being in the 'sleep' business we also inspected our rooms to ensure we are offering the Marriott Bed experience.

We look forward to the chance to entertain in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My son is autistic and travelling with him can be challenging. Heather recognized that my wife and I were challenged with him as we arrived at the hotel late. She offerred to bring us some goodies to the room. She then began to tell us of her hardships with family that made us feel that we had some things in common. Through the folowing days, Heather was always helpful, couteous and friendly. She knew our names and wrote letters to my son each day. He felt very special and I did too. I would challenge the owner to do whatever possible to keep and reward her for her behavior.

The rooms were somewhat small but very adequate. Champions sports bar had good food and good service.

All associate we ran into smiled and said hello whenever we met in the hallways/elevators/valet. I recommend highly this hotel for anyone visiting Austin

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our week long stay at the Austin Marriott Downtown was relaxing and proved to be a great location from which to explore the town! We had never been here and found it to be very easy city to navigate and this hotel was centrally located as well as being within walking distance of venues such as Austin City Limits, Sixth Street, the Driskill Hotel, Congress Street and more. We were upgraded to a residence suite which was very roomy and had a splendid view of downtown. The staff here is very accommodating and our room was clean and quiet (12th floor). The only negative would be that the breakfast, which was included for our stay, is just 'so-so'...the eggs taste like cardboard and even though you get a wide variety of options, it's not memorable. Just use it to fill up in the morning then go check out some of Austin's endless foodie options.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the Residence section, very roomy with kitchen facilities. We were charged for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#50 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.