We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is wonderful we experience an issue and they turned it around with an upgraded room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Staff is wonderful we experience an issue and they turned it around with an upgraded room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay and looking forward for great evening with my wife

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    104
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
33
40
18
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011 via mobile

Staff at the hotel were aggressively hospitable. Couldn't walk 10 feet without someone offering a genuine greeting. Onsite full service restaurant and Starbucks a great surprise.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga County, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

This is a very nice property in the heart of downtown Austin, and within walking distance of many restaurants and other attractions. The Courtyard shares a building with a Residence Inn, and that creates a small problem. Courtyards normally have a small restaurant that serves rather good breakfasts for a reasonable price. This Courtyard, however, shares a restaurant with the Residence Inn, and guests at the Courtyard get the "free" breakfast at the attached Residence Inn. While I like "free," the food at the Residence Inn buffet, like most "free" buffets, is not as good, nor as varied, as the food at most Courtyards. In addition, the room used to serve breakfast is too small for the number of people being served. It was hard to find a table the first morning I was there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
Good Morning HighCountryTraveler,
Thank you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Austin! I wanted to take a moment and let you know we are now offering a complete breakfast at the Courtyard, indluding a Continental and the full 'All American Buffet'. In addition to the buffet options we will offer A la carte choices and eggs cooked to order.
We look forward to entertaining on your next trip to the Live Music Capital of the World!!! Thank you for your feedback.

Cordially,
David
Dir. of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

Great service with a restaurant and bar on site. Since it's combined with residence inn, some facilities like gym are shared. Valet parking is expense at $ 27/nite.rooms are clean and functional. Ask for rooms overlooking 4th street

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

I scored a tremendous deal on Priceline for the Courtyard Austin Convention Center and could not have been more pleased with my experience.

I was in Austin for a 4 day trip just to visit the city and eat bbq. While there, I also needed to call in to work (a radio station in the Northeast) and go on the radio chatting for a few minutes about the trip. Since this hotel is close to the 6th Street area, and the people can really enjoy themselves (read: be noisy), the hotel staff bent over backwards to find me a quiet location in the hotel to make this call. They opened the restaurant, which was closed by this time of the night), and let me have the run of the place while I was on-air. They could not have been more accommodating.

The hotel was very finely finished and furnished, and our room was clean and well-appointed. Each and every staff member I had contact with was pleasant, professional, and helpful if something was needed.

The location of the hotel was excellent as well. Only a few blocks from 6th Street, and to the "bat bridge". There is a Starbucks in the lobby, as well as a sports themed bar. Parking is on-site, both valet, and self-park. I self-parked the entire weekend and did not have any difficulty finding a space. The elevators also go right down into the garage, so getting to your car is easy.

I spent some time speaking with the front desk staff as well, and found them to be very helpful and full of recommendations that were dead-on.

I would definitely stay here again, but have some concerns that I could get it for the price I did ($105.00 a night). The prices on the website for the Courtyard are three times as much!

Room Tip: Use one of the travel websites to get a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a few weeks. I was able to negotiate a weekly deal before hand. In the end, I was quite pleased. The service was attentive. Heather was a great receptionist, the most consistent face I saw.

The rooms are your standard courtyard cookie-cutter type. The flat screen did not come in clear on numerous occasion. The showers were not fantastic either, but for business purposes, the rooms were fine.

I would recommend this place for any traveler. It is close to 6th street and good food just south. For families, the Residence Inn maybe more accommodating, even though you get 5 instead of 10 Marriott points per $.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

The Courtyard was fabulous. It was clean, convenient, spacious with a perfect location. The assistance we received at the front desk is similar to a fine upscale hotel. They recommended restaurants, places to go, things to do and most importantly helped us with our new iphones that we were not sure how to use. The staff is terrific. Love this hotel and highly recommend it for a visit to Austin.

Room Tip: If you want quiet - ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center

Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#50 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin Downtown / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.