We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Outdoors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freddie's Place

Freddie's Place
1703 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-4249 (South Austin)
512-445-9197
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #302 of 3,154 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Austin
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Great Outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The food here is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The place can get crowded but for 1st street there is good parking. The large treed outdoor seating area is fantastic and a welcome break from the "traffic madness". Its a wonderful place to people and dog watch. Freddie's welcomes well behaved canines and children. Great relaxation to sit in the shade, have a good meal and watch the people and their pets. You see some real characters. Try not to stare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to relax and enjoy dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The outdoor seating is rare to come across located in a grove of trees on the edge of a quiet neighborhood. A playground for kiddos, dog area, music stage, great burgers! A perfect place to relax, have dinner, listen some music and enjoy the evening.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed outdoor spot - Best chicken waffles I have had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Came here with a group of local friends during SXSW... this is a relaxed casual American restaurant. Great spot to go with a group of friends (and seems to be dog friendly).

The food was great: great Mac and cheese. Broccoli salad side dish was very good as well. However, the chicken and waffles were delicious (best I have ever had) and would come back for it.

Outdoor seating has a stage for live music (great band was playing while we were there) and supposedly heat lamps (which were unfortunately not out when we there).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good dog friendly and good food restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Too bad for us that it was cold and windy and we had our small dog with us. They do have a great place to bring your dog and offer water bowls and a treat. I had the hatch pepper Mac n cheese with chipotle slaw and it was the best Mac n cheese I've ever had! My husband liked the pork sliders as well. The service was great!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a fun, causal Sunday brunch outside on a beautiful afternoon. The surroundings were full of quirky little touches. The staff very attentive. The food good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddie's Place also viewed

 

Been to Freddie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.