We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Freddie's Place

Freddie's Place
1703 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-4249 (South Austin)
512-445-9197
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #430 of 3,123 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“3.5 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

3 stars food but 5 star Austin atmosphere. (But service gets a 2, for being slow).

They let you bring your dog. They have cheap happy hour drinks. Great outdoor eating space. That alone makes it worth going here.

As far as the food goes, it's average. The burgers are fine and I would order one again. The other stuff is so-so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    18
    25
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Won't Go Back!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Poor Service, average food. We had a group of 10. Got seated promptly but EVERYTHING went downhill from there! Waitress finally refilled our drinks when we all had FINISHED eating, but it only took 30 minutes to get our drinks to begin with. What did I expect???? Never received our appetizer after asking 3 different people about them. After waiting a full 30 mins for our check, we had to go track down our waitress for our check. Since we were "LARGE" party and the MENU says they charge 20% that we had to pay it. The Mgr offered us gift cards but we refused as we WILL NOT go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Lovely Way to Start a Saturday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stopped by Freddie's Place to enjoy a little brunch (breakfast for my husband, lunch for me) under the shade trees before the day became sweltering, as it always is in July and August in Texas. What a sweet place! Tons of outdoor seating and the aforementioned trees, play area for the kids, stage for live music (though there was none at the time), outdoor bar and even a ping pong table. Good times! They love their four legged friends at Freddie's and many of the patrons had brought their dogs along. They even provide a hydration station where you can grab a bowl of the cold stuff for your furry companions.

I ordered the Cobb Salad and was a bit disappointed by all the iceberg lettuce, otherwise, it was pretty standard. My husband had a pancake (which was kinda small) and a breakfast taco (which was kinda huge). He was more than happy with his choices and though mine wasn't earth shattering, the ambiance more than made up for it. Wait staff was friendly and helpful.

This place could potentially be amazing if they worked a bit harder. As it stands, it's a great place to hang out, enjoy a meal and a drink or two in a shady setting along Bouldin Creek.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angleton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If your looking for good food this is not the place to go”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The atmosphere was ok outside , they had a band and a playground for the kids. The waitress we had acted like we were putting her out by ordering our food. Everything seemed like a hassle for her. It smelled like mothballs outside where we were at. The food was not good hot dog bun was so tuff kids had a hard time biting it. Bread was hard on the pbj sandwich. Chips were ok but the rest of the food was bland , tasted like frozen food. Wouldn't recommend this place if you are looking for a good meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good food at good prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

kind of predictable once you see the place but they had very nice wait staff, good food nothing extraordinary but well priced and quick service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freddie's Place also viewed

 

Been to Freddie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freddie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.