We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Austin to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #77 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I just moved from IL to TX and knew no one. I stayed at the Wyndham Garden Hotel for about two months for work and the staff was really sweet to me. They really made me feel comfortable and like I was home. I got to know each of them a bit better because I saw them quite frequently. A few of the people that made my stay extra special were: Monica, Zach, Jason and Josh at the front desk. My housekeeper Diana always did an excellent job and is a wonderful person. Thanks so much guys!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
It was a pleasure to see your smiling face everyday in the lobby, and everyone here misses you dearly. We hope that you have adjusted well into your new home. Please come back and see us sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    306
    162
    81
    40
See reviews for
202
155
58
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We assumed when we picked the Kind "suite" that it would be one of the nicer rooms in the hotel. Not so much! This is apparently an area that used to be part of a small motel that the hotel bought. The rest of the hotel is in a building about 10 stories tall. These rooms are in a separate area around the pool. The quieter "suites" have a wonderful view of a parking lot on one side and the back of the pool house on the other. The rooms on the other side look out at the freeway.
If you book this type of room be aware that while there is a "kitchen area" (sink, fridge, cabinets, microwave and coffee maker) there is absolutely nothing to use in the kitchen. We called the front desk who sent us to the kitchen, who then tried to send us back to the front desk saying they had no idea why the font desk would sent our call to them. Finally we were told that you have to request to get the kitchen stuff. They then sent over two plates and two silverware sets wrapped in napkins from the restaurant. That's what you get to use in the kitchen.
In addition, there is a little living room, with a couch, but no coffee table or side tables. There is a large wooden dining table and a couple of chairs. The arrangement is not made for comfort.
Then add to that that we had to call to get them to bring pillows and a blanket for the sofa bed which we wanted to use. Oh, and the TV in the bedroom gets about a third of the channels as the one in the living room. The carpeting is the sort of indoor-outdoor type, and the ceilings are low.
Top this off with the fact that, as others have mentioned below, the front desk staff are unhelpful and just plain unfriendly and you get the picture.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. If you have a moment to reach out to me directly, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your experience. Your lengthy comments suggest you had expectations that were not met, and it would benefit not only me but future guests to understand what exactly we could have done to satisfy your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idalou, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The bed was great, the room clean but aged. Lighting was awful. The bathroom light is connected to the fan, so I had to listen to the fan the whole time I was doing hair/makeup. That is quite nerve racking. That's an easy fix, Wyndham. The front desk seemed understaffed and the Revive (with Starbucks items on the menu) coffee shop, was understaffed also. Plus, when I asked for my item they quickly told me they were not a real Starbucks and did not have many items, just coffee. There needs to be a customer service workshop in the meeting rooms, for the staff. Food was good. Wait staff nice. Again, the bed was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. Your constructive comments are helpful additions to training our hotel team. We certainly are able to offer more than coffee at Revive, and I'll forward your words to our Outlets Manager so he can coach his team to use better verbiage when speaking with our guests. As for the bedding, food servers and food quality, thank you so much for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Third stay at this hotel. Two previous visits were good. This time was not. Yellowish, gritty bits between the sheets. Not sure if it was dried foam rubber, sand, grit or bugs. Very difficult to sleep with debris and itching but didn't find until late at night when we got in. Took a sample to the manager next morning and explained but he didn't even apologize. Questionable whether we will stay at this hotel again..

Room Tip: Check the beds when you first check in. Maybe you'll get better results than I did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I sincerely apologize that you experienced discomfort on your recent stay with us. Our Housekeeping department takes great pride in their work, and I'm very sorry that they missed on this day. I promise you this is not a common occurance, and we certainly hope you give us another chance. Feel free to contact me directly when you make your next reservation, and I will personally inspect your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The clerk working was condescending and rude. I watched him treat three other families with nothing but disgust. It was a chore to even get a key. No direction to the elevators or assistance for a cart to move luggage were offered. The room was just as disappointing. The lamp & sink were both cracked. The mirror had a line of something through it. Neither the AC nor the mini-fridge worked properly. The internet was slow and the tv fuzzy. The room & bathroom had strange layouts of counters. Overall not worth the hassle. I would not stay at a Wyndham property again.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason B, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I apologize that you thought you were mistreated. As I discussed with you at check in, our policy does not allow us to check guests in to rooms without having a valid ID that matches your reservation. As you did not have a reservation in your name, it did naturally delay your check in process. I'm sorry for this inconvenience. Our Engineering department immediately looked into all the room related concerns you noted, and any future guests can be sure that they were rectified immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Address: 3401 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.