We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Austin

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Austin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3401 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #74 of 182 hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As I was attending the inaugural Formula 1 race in Austin, I was trying to find something relatively cheap with good quality and convenient location. The location was near a poor, bad area of town, which was not what I expected. Also, I got put in a 1-star motel-like room down by the pool in the beginning (horrible room - hair in the sink, dirty, no kitchen utensils, weird vibe, motel 6-ish, damp floors, you get the idea), then complained and got moved up to a four star room, modern and pretty nice, with a lamp that didn't work. I think, given the experience, it was generous to give 3 stars, but the Formula 1 race was great. Probably won't stay here again, but it was not terrible. Just don't try out what they call "suites"... they are only known as suites because they are bigger and have a kitchen area... they are renovated Motel-6's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your candor regarding our poolside casita suite. I appreciate your honesty. Your feedback is very important and we’ll use your comments when making our plans for our next renovation. Our engineering team repaired the lamp in the other room as well. I hope you’ll give us another chance to provide you with a great experience. Casandra Kokoska Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    273
    136
    72
    38
See reviews for
178
136
53
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wow....very nice.
I actually was scheduled to do a photo shoot in Austin, Texas on October 23, 2012 and needed an hotel in close proximity to where the photographer's located. And after just reading the amenities of this hotel decided to give myself the green light with the booking.

Upon completion of my booking, I went back to the website just to re-read the amenities and all that this property has to offer and I felt pretty good about my decision.
Well..well..well....upon arrival I called the hotel for the complimentary shuttle. Within 7 minutes the shuttle arrived at the area where I was instructed to wait. That's my first thumbs up sign. I was greeted by this very beautiful female driver. WOWW....I said. that's my second thumbs up.
Upon arrival at the premises....Another thumbs up. The front desk staff was super helpful and very fast with the check-in process while still giving you individualized attention. I was just so excited about my selection. You were always greeted with a smile as many times as you enter or leave the premises.

The rooms were super cozy and very up-to-date! Another two thumbs up!
the gym....OOOOO YES....very good!
the restaurant on the premises is spectacular and the team/staff is just magnificent. EVERYONE OF THEM!

Overall, my experience was wonderful, and on my way to airport i remember telling the shuttle driver that they've made my stay so great that I'm ready to come back and spend a few days just to relax and enjoy the amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Wyndham Garden Austin. We take our guest feedback to heart and it means the world to us that you enjoyed the hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle, friendly drivers and front desk staff, fast check in, individualized attention, and super cozy room. We work hard to make sure you have the best of times at our hotel and we can’t wait to see you in Austin again soon. Casandra Kokoska Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here during Autism treatment. We got the special Thoughful house package. The toys and special soap etc were awesome! Staff was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our autism friendly rooms and our staff. I’m so happy you and your family enjoyed the toy box and handmade soap. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Casandra Kokoska Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good rates, and good location. Will stay there again, and will recommend it to our friends. Look forward to staying at an other Wyndnam in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Wyndham Garden. We appreciate your comments about our good rates and location. As an Austinite, our location is one of my favorite things too. Just 3 miles from city center, it's a quick drive or cab ride away and a mile away from the South Congress area. We hope to see you again soon. Casandra Kokoska Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEATHERFORD
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I walked in to a beautiful lobby and great front desk service. The rooms were a little outdated for my taste and no refrigerator or microwave was a let down. Being a Wyndham Rewards member I usually receive complimentary drinks and snacks upon my arrival but I received none with this stay. It's the little things that set the Wyndham apart from other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CKokoAUSWC, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Garden Austin, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It means a lot to us that you took time to share your experience with us about the beautiful lobby and great front desk service. Please accept our apologies for not delivering your Wyndham Rewards amenity. I have already gone over this review with the front desk staff to make certain every delivery is completed. We look forward to your next stay. Casandra Kokoska Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Garden Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Austin

Address: 3401 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78741
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Austin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 3 miles from downtown Austin and 4 miles from the airport, the Wyndham Garden Hotel is a prime destination. Enjoy easy access to the city's high-energy music, sports, university, arts, and business districts while delighting in a backdrop of scenic Texas Hill Country. Wyndham has teamed with post-modernist design legend, Michael Graves, to create a refreshing hotel experience. The result: upscale but affordable Texas Hill Country accommodations with unique features and products for an unforgettable Austin getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyndham Garden Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Hotel And Woodward Conference Center
Wyndham Garden Hotel & Woodward Austin
Wyndham Austin
Austin Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.