We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #93 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here while in town for a wedding. The room was an okay size. Toilet did not flush properly and the room was not thoroughly cleaned. Ironing board was not stable and the iron was not so great but at least there was an iron. On the plus side there was a mini fridge and microwave. It was okay but I would not choose to stay at this location again. Too many nicer places just as close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. It sounds as if you had a pleasant stay albeit with some inconvenience. We try to assure that all the in room equipment is well maintained. I’ll bring the issue of irons and ironing boards to our executive committee. We replace irons regularly and perform preventative maintenance on a set schedule.

We hope you will give us another try the next time Austin is in your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    160
    119
    58
    28
See reviews for
80
102
39
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The reason it is a good deal is that it is a dump. Elevators are old and beat to pieces. One side of the hotel is less than a 300 feet from Interstate 35. If you land on this side of the hotel and are on the second or third floor, you are on the same level as the interstate. Good luck trying to get any rest!!! They say they are a completely smoke free building, but they allow smoking in the bar. They moved me to the second floor because of the freeway noise the first night. I walked in the room on the second night and it smelled like cigarette smoke. I couldn't figure out why. Then I discovered the bar on the first floor. It is not a problem for which they are not aware. In the hall on the second floor, there is a hall A/C unit. The hotel has a air filter machine sitting on the vent to the A/C unit and plugged into the wall. Woke up the second night stopped up... awful hotel. The food in the restaurant was above average... but that's the only positive thing I can say. This hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Well we certainly didn’t meet your expectations but thanks for the comments. I feel the need to correct one assertion. This is a 100% smoke free facility and we do not allow smoking in our bar. Additionally, guests caught smoking in guest rooms are charged a 250.00 fee for deep cleaning. Unfortunately some folks just don’t obey the rules and it can affect other guests. The second floor of which you speak is on the other side of the hotel from the Tavern in a separate tower and it does have a scent machine since these are closed hallways in a circular building.

We installed double paned windows several years ago to ease any problems from the highway but we are really less than a football field away as you indicate. Some guests are more susceptible than others and we offer ear plugs if it is a problem. Every one of the properties along I-35 will have the same challenge. Unfortunately, can’t change our location.

Regarding elevators, we’ve recently replaced the overall workings and are taking bids for new cabs as part of an overall upgrade.

We regret that your stay was not up to our standards, we hope you’ll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn is about a mile from the Downtown area and a relatively straightforward walk - or cheap cab ride. It's a little dated, with a rickety lift at the front, but I've stayed in far worse places..

If you have a front-facing room, the highway is very loud at pretty much all hours. I was woken up a few times by traffic in the small hours and there seems to be very little sound-proofing.

Breakfast was quite expensive for a mediocre effort (I didn't bother in the end) but, with the free parking and wifi - which worked for me everywhere - it's not a bad deal

Room Tip: Anywhere that's not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks for your review and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes it’s not a bad walk into downtown and cab fare is usually $6.00-$8.00. The best walk during the day is down the hike and bike trail to the Four Seasons and Caesar Chavez Street.

At night, a walk into downtown that cuts through the Rainey Street District can be quite entertaining. You may just spend the evening there among the restaurants, lounges and food trailers. Rainey Street is only a 5 minute walk and .2 miles.

Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to Paul and his staff for taking such good care of us for the week that we stayed at the Inn. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (particularly Noelle and Lovinia) before via e mail and during our visit, made it a lovely time. We availed of the pub, laundry, gym, pool, guest services and shuttle service and had only good experiences.

Gene is a knowledgeable and kind driver, thank you.
Paul's responsiveness and generosity are unparralleled, thank YOU.

We will certainly be back to stay with you all for the Keller Williams Mega Camp next year!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We certainly enjoyed having your group stay with us during the Super Camp and look forward to working with you again in 2014. We have many employees who have been with us for many years so expect to see some familiar faces next year.

See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My room was small and crowded for 2 adults and a 2yr old. The carpet was disgusting in the room and out in the hallway. The location is good, but a little difficult to get in and out of the property. The hotel food was quite decent though, otherwise I wouldn't recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the candid comments. You’ll be happy to know that we’re in the process of replacing much of our carpeting. You may have noticed the containers in the parking lot containing new carpeting. This project is almost done.

Stay tuned for further updates on planned renovation in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wouwse Plantage
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel has been around a while and is not the most modern, which you notice here and there, but what more than makes up for that is the hotel staff. From the minute you check in at the frontdesk to the bartender(s), the restaurant staff and the maid service you get treated at a personal level and they all make you feel welcome! Great stay, great Texas Friendly feeling. Thank you!! After not having been in Texas for 10 years it made me want to come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for your compliments to our staff. You are correct. We’re not the newest hotel in Austin but we can darned sure be the friendliest.

We’re elated you enjoyed your stay and don’t wait 10 years to come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL PASO, TEXAS
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this hotel has an excellent location, right on lake, nice views from pool, complimentary shuttle service to downtown, free parking, decent rooms for good price. If you want a room with a view to the lake, you have to request it and it costs more but you can go to the pool and enjoy the view from there. the check in was fast

Room Tip: you might want to request a room in the tower facing the lake, otherwise you might get one facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Yes our location does really lend itself to the enjoyment of all of Austin. We’re an easy on and off the highway, right on the Hike and Bike Trail and within a short walk to Rainey Street and downtown, all without the extra charges of some other downtown hotels.

We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your stay, please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.