We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Spring
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel made our stay in Austin awesome. We came down for the weekend and booked reservations at the Holiday Inn-Town Lake. When we got there they had upgraded us to the top floor overlooking the lake. It was beautiful. The rooms were large and very up-to-date. The hotel offers ample parking free which was a nice plus considering the month before we had stayed in San Antonio and paid 40.00 in parking. If you are wanting to visit 6th street or South Congress area you are about a mile away. We drove to 6th street and had to find parking, it would of probably been better to walk. There are beautiful paths to South Congress if you do choose to walk to that area The best part of the hotel is it was so quiet. Our traveling companions stayed right on 6th street and they were kept up all night with people coming in and out all hours of the night. I would highly recommend to stay here. Close enough to the attractions but far enough from the noise!!

Room Tip: Try to ask for the Lake Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wow, thanks so much for the great review. Yes, we do offer the best of both worlds in Austin. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of downtown. The hike and bike trail can put you right on Congress or next to the Four Seasons near the 2nd Street District. You can also go north to Rainey Street and proceed to downtown from there.

Rainey Street is the new hot spot in town for night life with its converted bungalows and new restaurants. It’s really about a 5 minute walk from the hotel or have our shuttle drop you off there. Either way, we hope you will come back soon and enjoy Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    150
    108
    52
    27
See reviews for
78
95
37
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wagoner ok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

i was very pleased with the staff. The hotel sits right by the lake with beautiful biking and running trails.
the staff knows their business when it comes to Customer service. Jesse was the gentleman at the front desk and had excellent people skills.
the restruant had great food. The best hamburger I had in a long time
I left my phone charger and they shipped it back to me.
I love this place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We do have really good hamburgers don’t we? Thanks for the positive comment about your stay and we’re happy that you enjoyed our location and service. Jesse provides excellent leadership at the front desk and it show in experiences like yours. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel to be cheerfully greeted by the Front Desk Manager, Aaron Goman. I made a special request to have a King Room on the lake side as high up as we could get. Mr. Goman went out of his way to make our request happen. He was so professional and friendly, taking extra time to make sure that we were taken care of and explaining all the hotel amenities. As promised, the room was very nice with a beautiful view. We met friends for drinks in the bar which we found very cozy. The drinks and service were great with the drinks reasonably priced. I loved the "FREE" covered parking. The food and service at the breakfast buffet were excellent. But the very best thing at the hotel was Mr. Aaron Goman. He made my day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re elated that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again soon. Yes Aaron, our Front Desk Supervisor, represents us well. We strive at all levels to extend exemplary service to all guests, every day.

We’re also glad that you were able to enjoy some of our other amenities, like the free parking, it’s rare near the downtown area. Thanks for your comments, I’ll relay them to Aaron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a last minute trip for work to Austin and ended up staying through the weekend to enjoy the city. I was at first bummed that I was not downtown - but that changed quickly. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, the staff was always great and helpful, and the location ended up being amazing. It's just a few blocks from Rainey Street - which was way more fun than the downtown bars.

The hotel is a bit older, but it seems to have been remodeled and the rooms were nice and clean. My room was on a top floor facing the lake. Some rooms face the freeway and I'd probably want to avoid them as the freeway seemed like it may be loud. The rooftop pool had a great view of Lady Bird Lake, though it's a bit shallow (maybe 4 feet?) and no hot tub. Oh, and the wifi was free and pretty good.

While every staff member that I interacted with was great - I especially want to mention Amy Jo in the hotel bar. She was awesome, remembered our drinks, gave us great recommendations for the nightlife and was all around fantastic.

If I came back to Austin, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words and compliments. I agree with you on our location, it’s the best of both worlds of close to downtown and the lake without some of the hassles of being in the city center. Yes, Rainey Street Rocks. Over the last year there have been at least 10 new spot including more restaurants. It’s like a block party every night now and only .2 miles away. Next time, perhaps we can drop you off there as we do for many guests.

Thanks too for your compliments to Amy. She’s relatively new and is really doing a great job in the Tavern. Come back soon, we’ll be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Several restaurants within walking distance. Bat bridge (a must see) is about a mile down the trail. Staff was very helpful. Workout room overlooks pool, which overlooks lake. Both are kind of small but nice. New equipment in workout room. I like the fact the coke machine takes a card, don't have to scrounge for bills I rarely have.

Business Center is pretty nice, although I did keep having to reinstall the printer, and would recommend changing the desk jet with some sort of low end laser jet or all in one printer. I was there for a conference, and for our meals, the buffets were great and there was always plenty of food.

The projector screen is a little low in the Lantana rooms, but that is limited by ceiling height. Some of the other conference rooms have higher ceilings, so great over all. Service by staff was excellent for whatever was needed.

Overall I would stay there again if in area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. Along with your associates, groups like yours are a vital element of our market mix and we strive to excel in every way.

There are more and more restaurants and night spots popping up in the area particularly along Rainey Street. Next time you’re here, our shuttle can drop you off at the end of the street and you can take in what Rainey Street has to offer and it’s only .2 miles from our front door.

Thanks too for the suggestion about our printer. Indeed that’s an option we’ve been considering.
Thanks for the compliments and come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and can't really find much that was bad about our stay, except that the roof top pool is about four feet deep... at the deep end!

Minor complaint aside, although you are right next to the freeway (which our room faced), we had no real noise from outside and no problems sleeping. The room was a decent size with comfy beds, the bathroom a little small but kept clean and the wireless was free and worked everywhere we went in the hotel.

Although it is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre, they offer a free shuttle bus at certain times which is a real bonus. Rainy Street is a very short distance away and as the hotel is by the lake, you can rent kayaks nearby. There is also a decent bar downstairs near the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review. All I can say is that I totally agree with you. It appears that you took advantage of many of our unique amenities and enjoyed them.

Yes Rainey Street is an up and coming entertainment district. I walked there yesterday and it took 8 minutes. We’re glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable, that’s our goal and we strive to deliver that to every guest.
Come again soon and enjoy..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As we booked late, and there were several events in Austin, hotel options were limited. We chose this hotel due to proximity to the city and other attractions. I would opt to stay outside the city rather than this property if given the chance again. Pros: free shuttle service from airport and town; rooftop pool. Cons: Old, musty decor and interior; big bugs; rooms face the highway/noise; mediocre-poor service; price for what you're getting. If you must stay here, ask for a refurbished room on a higher floor and not facing the highway. But overall, you're better off staying outside of town and cabbing/walking for this price.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for the constructive review. Although we didn’t live up to your expectations, we appreciate your business. I would like to point out that all our rooms were renovated in 2008. Unfortunately, we get heavy use and do our best to maintain Holiday Inn standards.

Our rates generally represent a good value against our competition but rates in Austin are the highest in the state at this point. I’m surprised at the comment on our service, we generally get glowing reviews on our staff. If there was a particular associate that was not helpful and courteous, we’d certainly like to know.

Our goal is to provide great service to every single guest. We hope you give us another try to provide that to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.