We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Manager Made My Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #91 of 183 hotels in Austin
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
“Front Desk Manager Made My Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel to be cheerfully greeted by the Front Desk Manager, Aaron Goman. I made a special request to have a King Room on the lake side as high up as we could get. Mr. Goman went out of his way to make our request happen. He was so professional and friendly, taking extra time to make sure that we were taken care of and explaining all the hotel amenities. As promised, the room was very nice with a beautiful view. We met friends for drinks in the bar which we found very cozy. The drinks and service were great with the drinks reasonably priced. I loved the "FREE" covered parking. The food and service at the breakfast buffet were excellent. But the very best thing at the hotel was Mr. Aaron Goman. He made my day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We’re elated that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you again soon. Yes Aaron, our Front Desk Supervisor, represents us well. We strive at all levels to extend exemplary service to all guests, every day.

We’re also glad that you were able to enjoy some of our other amenities, like the free parking, it’s rare near the downtown area. Thanks for your comments, I’ll relay them to Aaron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    143
    104
    49
    26
See reviews for
72
93
36
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a last minute trip for work to Austin and ended up staying through the weekend to enjoy the city. I was at first bummed that I was not downtown - but that changed quickly. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, the staff was always great and helpful, and the location ended up being amazing. It's just a few blocks from Rainey Street - which was way more fun than the downtown bars.

The hotel is a bit older, but it seems to have been remodeled and the rooms were nice and clean. My room was on a top floor facing the lake. Some rooms face the freeway and I'd probably want to avoid them as the freeway seemed like it may be loud. The rooftop pool had a great view of Lady Bird Lake, though it's a bit shallow (maybe 4 feet?) and no hot tub. Oh, and the wifi was free and pretty good.

While every staff member that I interacted with was great - I especially want to mention Amy Jo in the hotel bar. She was awesome, remembered our drinks, gave us great recommendations for the nightlife and was all around fantastic.

If I came back to Austin, I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words and compliments. I agree with you on our location, it’s the best of both worlds of close to downtown and the lake without some of the hassles of being in the city center. Yes, Rainey Street Rocks. Over the last year there have been at least 10 new spot including more restaurants. It’s like a block party every night now and only .2 miles away. Next time, perhaps we can drop you off there as we do for many guests.

Thanks too for your compliments to Amy. She’s relatively new and is really doing a great job in the Tavern. Come back soon, we’ll be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Several restaurants within walking distance. Bat bridge (a must see) is about a mile down the trail. Staff was very helpful. Workout room overlooks pool, which overlooks lake. Both are kind of small but nice. New equipment in workout room. I like the fact the coke machine takes a card, don't have to scrounge for bills I rarely have.

Business Center is pretty nice, although I did keep having to reinstall the printer, and would recommend changing the desk jet with some sort of low end laser jet or all in one printer. I was there for a conference, and for our meals, the buffets were great and there was always plenty of food.

The projector screen is a little low in the Lantana rooms, but that is limited by ceiling height. Some of the other conference rooms have higher ceilings, so great over all. Service by staff was excellent for whatever was needed.

Overall I would stay there again if in area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We’re certainly glad you enjoyed your stay. Along with your associates, groups like yours are a vital element of our market mix and we strive to excel in every way.

There are more and more restaurants and night spots popping up in the area particularly along Rainey Street. Next time you’re here, our shuttle can drop you off at the end of the street and you can take in what Rainey Street has to offer and it’s only .2 miles from our front door.

Thanks too for the suggestion about our printer. Indeed that’s an option we’ve been considering.
Thanks for the compliments and come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights and can't really find much that was bad about our stay, except that the roof top pool is about four feet deep... at the deep end!

Minor complaint aside, although you are right next to the freeway (which our room faced), we had no real noise from outside and no problems sleeping. The room was a decent size with comfy beds, the bathroom a little small but kept clean and the wireless was free and worked everywhere we went in the hotel.

Although it is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre, they offer a free shuttle bus at certain times which is a real bonus. Rainy Street is a very short distance away and as the hotel is by the lake, you can rent kayaks nearby. There is also a decent bar downstairs near the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review. All I can say is that I totally agree with you. It appears that you took advantage of many of our unique amenities and enjoyed them.

Yes Rainey Street is an up and coming entertainment district. I walked there yesterday and it took 8 minutes. We’re glad you found the hotel clean and comfortable, that’s our goal and we strive to deliver that to every guest.
Come again soon and enjoy..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

As we booked late, and there were several events in Austin, hotel options were limited. We chose this hotel due to proximity to the city and other attractions. I would opt to stay outside the city rather than this property if given the chance again. Pros: free shuttle service from airport and town; rooftop pool. Cons: Old, musty decor and interior; big bugs; rooms face the highway/noise; mediocre-poor service; price for what you're getting. If you must stay here, ask for a refurbished room on a higher floor and not facing the highway. But overall, you're better off staying outside of town and cabbing/walking for this price.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thanks for the constructive review. Although we didn’t live up to your expectations, we appreciate your business. I would like to point out that all our rooms were renovated in 2008. Unfortunately, we get heavy use and do our best to maintain Holiday Inn standards.

Our rates generally represent a good value against our competition but rates in Austin are the highest in the state at this point. I’m surprised at the comment on our service, we generally get glowing reviews on our staff. If there was a particular associate that was not helpful and courteous, we’d certainly like to know.

Our goal is to provide great service to every single guest. We hope you give us another try to provide that to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are very small, bathroom is very small, sink area and closet are very small. Wireless internet is very weak, get your own hotspot because don't make hopes on having good reception. I arrived with my family and I am a gold member priority club, so I should get better room or get upgrades, however, I got very bad old room, old carpet and very small two bed room.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Although we didn’t live up to your expectations, thanks for staying with us. Our policy is to upgrade out Priority Club Members but depending on occupancy and the time of your arrival, that’s not always possible.

Basically, all of our double rooms are equipped with double beds. The bath area in our Capital Tower are slightly smaller but all rooms have the same décor and amenities. In relation to our WiFi, we upgraded to a larger bandwidth last summer. Unfortunately, if there are many guests online at once, the signal and speed will suffer.

We hope you’ll give another chance the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at this facility for three weeks in July 2012 for business with family. The hotel's location is ideal, as it is central to the popular locales.
I was pleased with the staff's service and performance.
We were located high in the tower by the lake. This made for a pleasant view. We did not experience highway noise.
The hotel is looking a little worn. but I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake.

Room Tip: Go high in the tower nearest to lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It sounds as if you had enough time with us to explore the area around the hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed the location and our amenities. We do have some rooms with great views.

Thanks for your kind words and be sure to look us up the next time Austin is in your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Austin
#91 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.