We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around excellent place to stay in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #94 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“All around excellent place to stay in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last few years as an airline crew member on overnights and visiting my daughter who is in school in Austin.

The location right by the lake with its ride/running trails is perfect for getting out for some exercise. The hotel is also only about 5 blocks down from Famous 6th street. There are lots of small eateries and clubs in the mixed use neighborhood adjacent to the hotel so walking into the heart of downtown is interesting.

The hotel has a decent gym and very nice pool deck on top of the parking garage overlooking the lake. The food and drink in the bar and restaurant are good for hotel fare and the staff is always very prompt and friendly.

One last amenity worth mentioning is the segway/bike/boat rental company based in the hotel. The segway tours are a lot of fun and worth the price. The bikes are in decent condition compared to many other places I have rented and the price for bike rentals is very good. Honestly, a bike is the best way to get around the university and downtown areas of Austin during daylight and these guys make it so convenient and easy.

Room Tip: I prefer south tower rooms with a lake view but they can get hot with afternoon sun. North tower ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    175
    138
    63
    29
See reviews for
86
112
40
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Just had a great 4 day stay here for SXSW. Conveniently located to everything, views of the lake, and a short walk to most things of interest. Pedi cabs easily available, and a great shuttle service running on the 1/2 hour. Concierge is very helpful, and attentive. Best of all was our Manager Jesse!! He was incredibly helpful, always positive, and incredible service. Was a great resource for us, and a fantastic problem solver for last minute changes and details. I love flexible - on the fly service - with a big smile. The fact that this is a Holiday Inn with that kind of attention blew me away. Not what you'd usually be thinking.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I always judge a hotel by how accommodating, knowledgeable and helpful are the late night staff. The Holiday Inn Town Lake exceeded all my expectations. David, in particular, was a joy behind the front desk and was extremely helpful and professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The hotel is in a great location and super close to 6th street. A front desk worker named David was especially helpful! He was my favorite employee. He has a great attitude while working with customers. Thanks David

Room Tip: Mention that you would like a room FACING the lake...or you will end up facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for mentioning David, he is outstanding and makes our guests feel right at home. Some people are just meant to be in the Hospitality Industry. Our goals is to have every guest go check out having a completely successful stay, no matter what brought them to town. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I travel to Austin every spring break with my rowing team. The staff here is all around welcoming and friendly. This year Jesse made my stay even better than normal! He made sure that the shuttle dropped me off and picked me up on time from any place I needed to be. He made sure I had everything I needed and was very helpful on giving recommendations of great places to go and eat at. The view of the water from my hotel room was an extra bonus that I enjoyed.

Room Tip: Water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We're honored that your team chose our property to train and are alway happy to go above and beyond to make your stay special. Jesse is our Front Office Manager but still takes the time to drive guest around town and is a font of information about the local area. Yes there are great things to do and see as well as fabulous places to eat. We love our rowers, please come back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I traveled to Austin for Spring training with my rowing team. Austin is a big city with lots of things to see and do, unfortunately I did not have a car. However, Jesse went above and beyond all expectations by taking me anywhere I needed to go. He had a very pleasant attitude and truly loves serving others. The level of service he showed during my stay was one that I had never experienced at any other hotel. He wow'd me with his willingness to take me wherever I needed to go. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Water Views are awesome if you get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
If I can speak for Jesse, thanks for the compliment. Our transportation capability is extensive. We not only go within the local area, we also provide complimentary transportation to and from the airport. I don't think any other property near downtown can say that.

We love our rowers. The location, right on Lady Bird Lake provides easy access to all kinds of water activities. We're the winter/spring base of numerous teams from across the upper US and do our best to provide a sound place to train and enjoy the city. Spread the word..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Today Jesse, one of the drivers of the Hotel Taxi Shuttle, together with the working staff at the front desk, saved my day. I got lost and called the hotel that immediately sent out the shuttle to get me. This extra effort is just something that really should be acknowledged. The shuttle service that I get every morning to attend the conference I’m here for, and every afternoon to get back, is fantastic. I get friendly drivers all the time. I need to get the names for the other drivers as well (I have had three so far and all of them had been great) since they really should get full credit for being so professional, service minded and kind. Thank you!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We certainly enjoyed having you here and thanks so much for the glowing review. I say it every day, our people are our greatest asset. Yes our buffets are a hit on a regular basis. It shows because you don't just see other hotel guests, there are actually locals. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.