We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #93 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I travel to Austin every spring break with my rowing team. The staff here is all around welcoming and friendly. This year Jesse made my stay even better than normal! He made sure that the shuttle dropped me off and picked me up on time from any place I needed to be. He made sure I had everything I needed and was very helpful on giving recommendations of great places to go and eat at. The view of the water from my hotel room was an extra bonus that I enjoyed.

Room Tip: Water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We're honored that your team chose our property to train and are alway happy to go above and beyond to make your stay special. Jesse is our Front Office Manager but still takes the time to drive guest around town and is a font of information about the local area. Yes there are great things to do and see as well as fabulous places to eat. We love our rowers, please come back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    163
    119
    58
    28
See reviews for
81
103
39
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I traveled to Austin for Spring training with my rowing team. Austin is a big city with lots of things to see and do, unfortunately I did not have a car. However, Jesse went above and beyond all expectations by taking me anywhere I needed to go. He had a very pleasant attitude and truly loves serving others. The level of service he showed during my stay was one that I had never experienced at any other hotel. He wow'd me with his willingness to take me wherever I needed to go. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Water Views are awesome if you get a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
If I can speak for Jesse, thanks for the compliment. Our transportation capability is extensive. We not only go within the local area, we also provide complimentary transportation to and from the airport. I don't think any other property near downtown can say that.

We love our rowers. The location, right on Lady Bird Lake provides easy access to all kinds of water activities. We're the winter/spring base of numerous teams from across the upper US and do our best to provide a sound place to train and enjoy the city. Spread the word..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhättan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Today Jesse, one of the drivers of the Hotel Taxi Shuttle, together with the working staff at the front desk, saved my day. I got lost and called the hotel that immediately sent out the shuttle to get me. This extra effort is just something that really should be acknowledged. The shuttle service that I get every morning to attend the conference I’m here for, and every afternoon to get back, is fantastic. I get friendly drivers all the time. I need to get the names for the other drivers as well (I have had three so far and all of them had been great) since they really should get full credit for being so professional, service minded and kind. Thank you!

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, General Manager at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We certainly enjoyed having you here and thanks so much for the glowing review. I say it every day, our people are our greatest asset. Yes our buffets are a hit on a regular basis. It shows because you don't just see other hotel guests, there are actually locals. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I travel to Austin on a regular basis and this hotel staff is so welcoming and accommodating. The view of Town Lake from the tower is awesome and access to walking trails, downtown venues, the accommodating staff, the bar food is good - bartender remembers clients - nice touch, and the reception desk, whether you call or come by in person are great. The hotel was built awhile ago, you could pay way more for another hotel that has been "updated" to all the touches that some people think "necessary" but if you want real people who care about your stay, this location is for you.
I go out of my way to make sure I stay at Austin Town Lake.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the highway side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks so much for the outstanding review. Yes we do have great people and I'll be sure to share this with them. Our location on Lady Bird Lake is truly unique as it give us easy access to the lake and the highway. It also saves you from the hustle bustle of the city center. Thanks again and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I've lived in Austin before and now my work brings me back thankfully. I love Austin's, beautiful scenery, college town craziness and liberally minded atmosphere. The hotel is not brand new and I know that.... but i come back because the Townlake view is peaceful and gorgeous. When I stay it allows me direct access to run a couple of miles of running the Townlake Hike & Bike Trail and a great view of hot studs. LOL

As a frequent traveler and Platinum Priority Club member, I am thankful that they have a heated pool and a laundry facility since I travel for weeks sometimes. At the front desk, Ashley and Mr. Marroquinn, provide prompt and friendly customer service in the event you experience difficulties or have concerns.

I will continue to come back and enjoy the beauty of Austin's Townlake at Holiday Inn as long as they continue to honor my university state rate and providing awesome customer service! Austin, I love you! =)

Room Tip: Good restaurants near Townlake like Chuys, Torchys Tacos and Madam Mams near UT campus on Guadalupe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. Your experience is one that we strive every day to create for all our guests. As the first and last impression, our front office staff knows that they have the opportunity to set the stage for a good stay and leave a lasting impression until you return. You're always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed on the 8th floor in the West tower for 4 nights. Although it's next to the freeway, the noise on that side is minimal. Colleagues were in the older tower and complained of freeway noise. Our room, 818, was nicely decorated, gym on the 6th floor has 2 treadmills, 2 stair steppers, and 2 weight machines. Buffet breakfast is decent for about $10.00 with grits, oatmeal, two types of scrambled eggs, breakfast meats, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit. Wifi Internet spotty in rooms, very good in lobby. Free airport shuttle service is fabulous, and they give rides to local restaurants in-between airport pickups. Daniel is one of the drivers. Stella at the front desk is awesome!

Room Tip: Microwave and fridge in every room. Ask for a room in the West tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Great review and descriptions of our service and amenities. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back the next time Austin is in your travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is a great location, with easy access to Town Lake running trails and to the I-35. The property itself is tired and run down. It was the sort of room you wanted to be out of in the morning. The hotel lobby has no charm at all. The staff were friendly enough. We had a room just down from an ice-maching (the machine is right in the hallway) and every time someone used it, it sounded like it was right next to the bed.

Room Tip: Keep away from the ice-machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Address: 20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Live Music Capital of the World!Stay at Austin s Holiday Inn Town Lake and experience the comfort of 321 guest rooms, most overlooking Austin s scenic Hike & Bike trail and Lady Bird Lake, plus 3400 sq. ft. of flexible meeting/banquet space. A 100% smoke free facility, we are centrally located on IH35 & Lady Bird Lake and offer complimentary shuttle service (based upon availability) to Austin downtown s major attractions such as Texas State Capitol, Austin Convention Center, the University of Texas, the world famous Sixth Street/Warehouse Entertainment Districts offering local favorite bands, clubs & restaurants, and Bergstrom International Airport (AUS).The Holiday Inn Town Lake captures Austin s unique flavor and atmosphere, with bike, Segway and kayak rentals in the lobby, complimentary media room offering free blockbuster movies, free Wi-Fi and complimentary garage and surface lot parking. Serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, our Pecan Tree Restaurant offers casual dining at affordable prices and enjoy your favorite beverage and appetizer in our Tavern Lounge and view one of our three large flat screen TVs! Re-energize in our 24 hour exercise facility and outdoor heated roof top pool, which is the perfect place in Austin to enjoy a burnt orange Austin sunset! The Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake offers lots of services but our focus is to create a memorable experience at a reasonable price. Welcome to Austin and welcome to the Holiday Inn Town Lake! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Austin Town Lake Hotel Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.