We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place on the edge of Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin Airport, South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Austin Airport, South to your Saves list
Super 8 Austin Airport, South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Sugar Land, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place on the edge of Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here before and continue to be pleased by the quality of the rooms and staff. The room was nice and very clean. The no-smoking policy is wonderful! The beds were comfortable and the room was very quiet. I requested a top floor room and that request was honored without hesitation. The coffee at breakfast is Starbucks and is truly excellent. There is a good continental breakfast selection in the morning...pastries, waffles, cereal, fruit and bacon. The location is very good for hiking in the nearby parks and going into downtown Austin. The staff was very nice and let us check out a couple of hours late. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, General Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!
Warm regards,
Sam Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    136
    37
    14
    8
See reviews for
123
166
55
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The lobby and breakfast areas were comfortable and clean. There was a book shelf where you could exchange your books. There were movies available and the rooms had DVD players. The room and quality of bedding was very good. The bathroom was well stocked, even a basket if you needed to do laundry in the on-site laundry area on the main floor. The bathroom was well supplied with quality towels, coffee, tea, and the usual shampoo, lotion, etc. with a sign that said if you had forgotten to bring any of the usual things, such as toothpaste, brush, etc. come to the office for these complimentary items. There was also a microwave and refrigerator in the room. There was free WIFI also. What I really liked was the flooring was not carpeting, but Pergo type wood flooring. We have stayed in places where the carpeting was smelly and dirty and sometimes wet. I walked around in my white socks, and they did not look dirty. There was also a fitness room and sauna on the third floor. The room cost was very reasonable and definitely a good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your support and graciousness. We value your comments following your stay at Super 8 Austin Airport, South. We regard your commentary as advice on how to better our hotel. Thank you for your time. With God’s Grace, we hope to see you on your returning trip to Austin, Texas.

Maya Kumar, Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place. Spacious rooms. Free car park. Nice and helpful staff (at check in / the lady at check out was so so...).
Fantastic breakfast.!
This hotel is a find.
Very convenient location (when you have a car) for any place in Austin.
Stay there without hesitation.

2 comments:
1) the extra $2 for the safe can be waived, just ask. I got the explanation from other places: this is due to the fact that the safe boxes are rented from a 3rd party.
So, don't use it, and ask a refund of the daily cost, they will do it for you.

2) This hotel places emphasis on environmental awareness and encourages guest to save energy, etc… great! and I fully support.
But, the water provided is softened to the excess. So it takes 2 or 3 times more water to remove the soap / shampoo, which eventually leads to a waste.
Just do not soften the water (I doubt anyone will complain), that will save thousands of gallons.

Room Tip: Top floor is always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, General Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Your kind words will encourage us to do even better.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sam Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Austin Airport, South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin Airport, South

Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#17 Family Hotel in Austin
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin Airport, South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Austin Airport, South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Austin Airport, South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.