We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and value for the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Austin Airport, South

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Austin Airport, South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Austin Airport, South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    123
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
117
158
54
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The lobby and breakfast areas were comfortable and clean. There was a book shelf where you could exchange your books. There were movies available and the rooms had DVD players. The room and quality of bedding was very good. The bathroom was well stocked, even a basket if you needed to do laundry in the on-site laundry area on the main floor. The bathroom was well supplied with quality towels, coffee, tea, and the usual shampoo, lotion, etc. with a sign that said if you had forgotten to bring any of the usual things, such as toothpaste, brush, etc. come to the office for these complimentary items. There was also a microwave and refrigerator in the room. There was free WIFI also. What I really liked was the flooring was not carpeting, but Pergo type wood flooring. We have stayed in places where the carpeting was smelly and dirty and sometimes wet. I walked around in my white socks, and they did not look dirty. There was also a fitness room and sauna on the third floor. The room cost was very reasonable and definitely a good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your support and graciousness. We value your comments following your stay at Super 8 Austin Airport, South. We regard your commentary as advice on how to better our hotel. Thank you for your time. With God’s Grace, we hope to see you on your returning trip to Austin, Texas.

Maya Kumar, Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place. Spacious rooms. Free car park. Nice and helpful staff (at check in / the lady at check out was so so...).
Fantastic breakfast.!
This hotel is a find.
Very convenient location (when you have a car) for any place in Austin.
Stay there without hesitation.

2 comments:
1) the extra $2 for the safe can be waived, just ask. I got the explanation from other places: this is due to the fact that the safe boxes are rented from a 3rd party.
So, don't use it, and ask a refund of the daily cost, they will do it for you.

2) This hotel places emphasis on environmental awareness and encourages guest to save energy, etc… great! and I fully support.
But, the water provided is softened to the excess. So it takes 2 or 3 times more water to remove the soap / shampoo, which eventually leads to a waste.
Just do not soften the water (I doubt anyone will complain), that will save thousands of gallons.

Room Tip: Top floor is always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, General Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Your kind words will encourage us to do even better.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sam Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel itself was fine with small details you would expect at a pricier hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. The very early 4:30 am shuttle to the airport was on time and easy. The driver was friendly. We left too early to have breakfast.
However, the arrival was a different story. After we were finally able to reach the hotel by phone from the airport, we waited well over an hour for the shuttle to arrive. All the other hotel shuttles arrived and left more than once while we waited. Other shuttle drivers even asked if we needed help. The shuttle finally came. It took 10 minutes to get back to the hotel. They were not busy, so the only reason it took over an hour is that they just didn't mind leaving us waiting for over an hour before they came. For this reason, I would not stay here again.
The managers are doing a fine job making a pleasant place to stay at a reasonable price. Hopefully the shuttle issue can be fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Austin, General Manager at Super 8 Austin Airport, South, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking time to write review. The experience you had is totally unacceptable. No one deserve this. We sincerely apologize for this. Having to wait such a long time for shuttle is not our normal practice. As you show we were there on time at 4:30am shuttle. We do try very hard to please everyone.

Sam Kumar, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Austin Airport, South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Austin Airport, South

Address: 3120 Montopolis Drive, Southwest corner of Highway 71 and Montopolis Drive. Behind Jack In The Box, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#48 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Austin Airport, South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Convention Center, Sixth Street, University of Texas at Austin and Town Lake Super 8 Austin Airport, South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Super 8 Austin / Airport South hotel offers convenience to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and downtown Austin attractions. Situated off Interstate 35 and Highway 71, our Austin hotel is minutes from the vibrant arts and music scene on 6th Street. Rely on our non-smoking, Austin, TX hotel for value. Take advantage of conveniences like free Wi-Fi Internet access, well-lit free parking and guest laundry facilities. Our gym makes it easy to squeeze a workout into your busy day, and we offer a sauna if you need to unwind. Begin each morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast with bacon and waffles. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. LOCAL ATTRACTIONSOur Austin hotel is convenient to downtown Austin entertainment and attractions. Take a walk around Lady Bird Lake and check out Zilker Botanical Garden along the way. For live music, head to the venues of 6th Street and the Warehouse District, or catch a performance at Austin City Limits. If a campus visit is in your plans, University of Texas is close to our hotel, and major events and conferences at Austin Convention Center are also nearby. Explore Capitol Visitors Center, hike along Town Lake or bring your family to Austin Childrens Museum.DINING OPTIONSSeveral restaurants are within easy reach of our Austin, TX hotel. Try fried catfish or oysters at Catfish Parlour or Mexican food at El Meson. Other choices include 888 Pan Asian and Threadgills Home Cooking. TRANSPORTATION SERVICESReach your terminal in minutes with free shuttle service to Austin-Bergstrom International Airport. Our friendly staff can provide you with details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Austin Airport, South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Austin Airport, South Hotel Austin
Super 8 Hotel Austin
Super Eight Austin
Austin Super 8
Austin Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Austin Airport, South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.