We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and tasty steak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masterson's Restaurant

Masterson's Restaurant
101 Lakeway Drive, Lakeway Resort and Spa, Austin, TX 78734
+1 512-261-7323
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Masterson's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,051 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lakeway Blvd
Description: Lakeway Resort and Spa's newest restaurant, Masterson's Steakhouse boasts a sophisticated yet rustic atmosphere with pristine views of Lake Travis. Guests enjoy the impressive marble-topped bar with abundant seating and hi-def televisions. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, the restaurant features the finest ingredients from appetizers to entrees. Guest favorites include the delicious Breakfast Buffet, Extra Napkin Burger, Molasses Glazed Quail and Prime Cuts of beef. Whether you are heading to the lake or coming back from the golf course, there is a scrumptious meal for everyone at Masterson's.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great views and tasty steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Both my friend and I had a filet--which was cooked just right. The sides were delicious, and the service good, though they should not have rushed to take our plates before I was finished.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Masterson's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Masterson's Steakhouse. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the restaurant and steaks. We look forward to seeing you again.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Masterson's is a good asset to a great resort, I feel over all the dinner meals are to pricey. I did eat breakfast and it was very good. The buffet was well worth the price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Masterson's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of Masterson’s at Lakeway Resort and Spa. We discuss all guest reviews with our staff and I’ll take note of your comments. I’m pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and I hope you will choose to dine with us again.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The filet was fantastic and perfectly cooked. Solid wine list, great views out of the floor to ceiling windows.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Masterson's Restaurant, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of Masterson’s Steakhouse. We appreciate the compliments of the food, wine list and views. We look forward to your return visit.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fine Foods and a Fine Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

While staying at The Lakeway Resort and Spa, Masterson's is a MUST! Great service, great drinks and dining at its finest. My personal recommendation is the wedge of lettuce with blue cheese dressing, the filet mignon and the scallops with lobster risotto. I can't say enough about the food, drinks, service and décor. Simply put, it was wonderful and we will certainly be return customers. It -is- haute cuisine at its finest. Bon appetit!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Masterson's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Masterson’s Steakhouse. We are so pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service. I’d like to personally welcome you back. Please contact me at bkisker@lakewayresortandspa.com.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Service was mannerly and attentive but it took forever to get our meals. When it did finally arrive, the meals were good but it's frustrating that this is the only on-site restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, General Manager at Masterson's Restaurant, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the slow service in the restaurant. We recognize Masterson’s is the sole restaurant for the property and provide guests information on other dining options in the area. For convenience, we also have food service at our pool complex and in the guest rooms.

Robert Kisker
Regional Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masterson's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Masterson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masterson's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.