We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful garden in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zilker Botanical Garden

Zilker Botanical Garden
2220 Barton Springs Road, Austin, TX 78746 (South Austin)
512 477 8672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 394 things to do in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical Gardens includes 31 acres of land with plants that thrive in arid southwestern conditions.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Another wonderful garden in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice visit for a Sunday afternoon, accessible for all. Don't wait till July and August. In the middle of town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    90
    42
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It's about a ten minute drive from downtown Austin! It's beautiful with lots of different areas such as a rose garden, Asian garden, butterfly park. Great outing for families as well as friends and couples. A lot of wildlife out there such as fish, frogs, butterflies, insects, snakes etc. Only thing we missed was either to be allowed to bring picnic or a cafe out there! Otherwise it was a great place to spend a few hours!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I love this place. I use to pick up my son from day care, grab some dinner and meet my husband there. Very relaxing place to have your dinner and let the traffic die down. If you enjoy trails that meander through beautiful flowers, abundant plants, ponds, pond fish, and architectural relics... then you'll love this place too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My BF's mom was in town and we took her there for a walk, as she is a nature lover. All three of us enjoyed the stay, as the garden is really well-organized and was not crowded as we expected.
Tons of wildlife to look at, mostly birds and butterflies, some lizards, and we saw snakes too (there were on a small island, away from people, and we saw then only thanks to a helpful kid roaming around :)). I would definitely go back and visit it again

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
1 review
“Great place to take children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My grandkids loved it. We learned so much about the beautiful flowers and how they related to the earth. The many different flowers amazed our grandchildren. The beauty is fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zilker Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zilker Botanical Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.