We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing turn of the century preservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

The Driskill
604 Brazos St., Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512 474 5911 or 800 252 9367
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing turn of the century preservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Driskill still looks like 1888. The preservation of this hotel is astounding. It is a must see when visiting Austin.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    132
    36
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy Old Historical Hotel and Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We visited the historical Driskill for evening drinks and food in the upstairs lounge. They provided live music. Unique vintage appointments in the hotel, which appears to have been restored to beautiful condition. It made for a lasting and enjoyable memory from our first trip to Austin.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“We stayed here three nights, GREAT hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband had business and I tagged along. This is such a beautiful hotel with amazing decor, very friendly staff, great service and wonderful history and stories about it! We were a little disappointed we didn't realize the Driskill Grille was closed Monday. We've heard great things about it! We did visit the Lobby Bar and had some drinks. They seem to have live entertainment every night. We ate breakfast one morning in the bakery, it was delicious! We got room service breakfast twice which was great. My only complaint would be the coffee carafe doesn't keep the coffee hot for very long. The food and service were both amazing. The beds are very comfortable and our corner room was just perfect! I highly recommend a stay here or at least go in and check out the decor and have a drink at the bar or lounge area. It will not disappoint! I would definitely stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“I want to stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Popped in to see and gawp at this legendary hotel which is fantastic.
Super duty manager who took time to tell me about the history and also gave me printed info as well.
Best location for major entertainment in Austin.
Will stay here next time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocksprings, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Lively Bar Scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Meet friends for drinks in the hotel bar. Lots of activity and the entertainment was excellent. Look forward to our next trip.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.