We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Driskill

The Driskill
604 Brazos St., Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512 474 5911 or 800 252 9367
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Tuscola, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a Grande Hotel with a great 'Texas' history and late 19th century period perfect architecture. Located on Austin's E. 6th Street, The Driskill is right in the middle of great restaurants, bars, and entertainment.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    132
    36
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in a party of 50 for a Sunday brunch. Service was good, food was good, fruit was great! Normal brunch fare plus biscuits and gravy! Wait staff was attentive and setting in a hotel built in late19th century.Beautiful old hotel

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A delicious way to begin the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A cheese danish from the bakery at the Driscoll Hotel is one delicious way to start a busy day. The coffee here is outstanding, too, and you can sit in the cafe or in the amazing lobby of the historic Driscoll.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great and getting better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Service and selection has always suited us; we make it downtown to brunch, dinner as often as possible. Love to take our grand daughter to see "history" of the place and feel the Texas vibes. Last visit we were told by our server that soon the menu will be Organic at the Cafe' and more seasonal. Music to our ears. Looking forward to the next time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow, another must see while in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The decor in this hotel is just awesome, I didn't stay here but had a lovely lunch with family and took a tour, if you are into "old west" themes this is a must see. Oh, and the ladies room on the 2nd floor has amazing sinks in them!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Driskill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.