We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the bulgogi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar

Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar
2700 W Anderson Ln Ste 501, Austin, TX 78757 (Northwest Austin)
(512) 458-2477
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,093 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get the bulgogi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I've been to Korea and this is as good as I've had Korean cuisine stateside. I'd recommend the beef bulgogi, and make sure you order it spicey. It comes with a ton of side dishes- kimchi and pickled or fried tofu and fish cakes- so long as you order the dinner portion. Great meal and very good value. Sushi is okay, but not their specialty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What you Want in Korean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Bi Bim Bop, great suace fresh vegis. Pork Buk go Gi spicy delicious, nice Kim chee. Hard to find any problems with thiss little hole in the wall korean Joint hidden in the back recesses of an old shopping center. I gather its been in Austin a while and it is understandable while its still here. Highly recomended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Consistant Sushi Value Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have been going to this hidden sushi location off Anderson Lane for ten years. It is buried in the middle of a shopping center near the Alamo Draft House, but it can not be seen from the street...one must wander thru the maze to find this gem. I had dinner there last night and found the same quality with fresh sushi and reasonable combination plates that can be customized. The owner chef still recognizes me after, even after extensive over seas travel and we share the latest foreign policy/history/intrigue relating to the Korean peninsula while he prepares my meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“best bul gogi ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place has been here for an eternity and if you let the appearance scare you off yo will miss some of the best korean food in Austin! It is a hole in the wall type of place with fabulous food and service. There is a good variety of sushi and rolls as well as a good main course selection. I ususally get the beef bul gogi because I am addicted, but end up sharing with the others so we all get to try all of the dishes. The prices as a bit high but not unreasonable for a meal of this caliber!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“still ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

haven't been here in awhile and nice to come back..panchans are fresh..prices are to be expected..however bibimbap is small, wish it had more to it..dumplings were not good this time around, yukgijang was decent, kalbitang was ok, their udon was decent and their yakisoba was not yakisoba..but heard their lunches are really good esp. bento boxes and lunch specials..so would rather go there for lunch

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korea House Restaurant and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.