We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Star

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
China Star
6134 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723-1024 (St. Johns)
512-706-4545
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,502 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: St. Johns
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: St. Johns
Bossier City, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Affordable, Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is probably the best asian buffet that I've ever been to. One of the few buffets with wall to wall good dishes, not just a few good things you go for and some other junk you stomach to feel like you got your money's worth. I highly recommend you give them a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“lots of fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

cheap and fast with so much foods on the buffett table with a fast replenishing fruits, snacks, dessert

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large buffet; typical restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

the selection was very good, and prices were reasonable

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

How much do I love this place? When we go to Austin once or twice week, we exit off 290 right at China Star. And when we pass, I actually talk to the place, saying things like, “I can't wait to come see you again. Yeah, I miss you, too.” No, I'm not weird. I just do it because it drives my girlfriend crazy!
This is one of my very favorite restaurants in Austin. The selection is huge, the food hot and fresh, and the price is most reasonable.
What more can you ask for?

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Definitely get your money's worth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As big a buffet selection as you could want and everything was fresh. Of course, dining during busy periods ensures you have new selections. Its not cook to order from the menu, but it cant be beat when you're hungry.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to China Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.