We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Best Meals in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Cafe South

Magnolia Cafe South
1920 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-3503
512-445-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of Our Best Meals in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If I lived in Austin, I'd be here every weekend! My friends and I visited during a girls' weekend. We had to wait 30 or so minutes on a Sunday morning (expected) and service was initially a little spotty, but once we got rolling, everything was perfect. Their queso is absolutely out of this world... My friends and I drizzled it all over our breakfasts. The breakfast tacos were the best I've ever had - there was a great balance between the egg, bacon, cheese, and creamy avocado.

Love the funky vibe and the music (early 90s hip hop during our visit - fun!) as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    146
    44
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday breakfast while passing through Austin and were lucky enough to nab a counter spot right away. They do offer free coffee for those who are waiting for a table, which is very cool. We had a great waiter, friendly counter neighbor, and the food was fresh, delicious, and well priced. Highly recommend this spot for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great breakfast, eclectic menu choices, and fun atmosphere. Always a wait, but it goes fast. I love the gingerbread, chocolate chip pancakes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fabulous pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived at about nine on a Sunday morning and were told the wait would not be long. Within an instant, we were seated. Loved the menu and selected whole wheat pancakes with pecans and bananas plus real maple syrup. Yup, they charge extra for the real syrup, and each ingredient will set you back all of 50 cents for each pancake. Be a sport! For two extra bucks, these pancakes were memorably delicious. When we left, the line snaked out the door...so if you hate to wait, get up a little earlier!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Magnolia is tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Everything about Magnolia is superlative: the food, the service, the lay-out, the bustle and chatter of happy people, the prices. Most of all, though, it's the food that's so good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Cafe South also viewed

 

Been to Magnolia Cafe South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Cafe South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.