We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, for a restaurant in the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Onion Creek Grille

Onion Creek Grille
4140 Governors Row, Austin, TX 78744-1048
(512) 448-2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #644 of 2,939 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok, for a restaurant in the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food was not the best. Just did not have a fresh taste to it. We were eating in off peak hours, but that should not have been an excuse. 8 of us were eating and 3 people in our party had the waiter take the food back. Would not recommend, but okay for simple sustenance. My advice is to ask what needs to be freshly made, if eating in off peak hours.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good late night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found this place close to where we were staying. Got in late but early enough for a late dinner. Service was excellent, salads very good. We had salmon and chicken dinners prepared very well. Totally enjoyed the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've only tried the breakfast here but it is always delicious. Depending on how much you eat the buffet offers a pretty decent selection.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Pass, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch During Conference”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Food is very good at this restaurant. The service could improve. Our server took our orders and then brought our food and forgot about us. Had to get up to ask for refills.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great food, but restaurant is run down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for business and while the food and service were fine, I was seated next to the window and there were flies all over it. The restaurant itself is pretty run down and needs a remodel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onion Creek Grille also viewed

 

Been to Onion Creek Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Onion Creek Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.