We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse

Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse
1603 W 5th St, Austin, TX 78703-4737 (Downtown)
(512) 320-1541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #760 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $7 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Their chefs salad is tops. Greens, egg, bacon bits, carrot, tomato, you name it. Top it with BBQ and select a BBQ Sauce for the meat and dressing for your salad. Self Serve drinks and extras

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate here because our cab driver recommended it (we said we wanted good BBQ) It was in the end of a strip mall. Atmosphere was good, but the place was mostly empty, maybe because it was a Monday night. My son and I both got the pulled pork sandwich. It had a really good flavor, but was rather tough. My potato salad was pretty good. Sandwiches did not have much meat on them. The guy at the counter was very friendly and helpful. Probably would not return if I was in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A top rated BBQ place in Austin?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose to go to this restaurant because it was in the top 5 BBQ restaurants in Austin. We were so disappointed to find it a standard chain restaurant in a mall area. The ribs were very good and sauce acceptable. Potato casserole and salad were awesome, green bean casserole needed a lot of help. No wait staff, serve yourself. Don't believe there will be a second visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a family tradition to eat here, it was my grandma's favorite (life long Austinite) and so we always stop to eat here. get the okra.. and the broccoli casserole..and the spicy bbq sauce.lol

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingdale, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time at the is restaurant and the food was very good. It was affordable, however the portions was small.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.