We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse

Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse
1603 W 5th St, Austin, TX 78703-4737 (Downtown)
(512) 320-1541
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #301 of 3,006 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $7 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Irving, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It's a family tradition to eat here, it was my grandma's favorite (life long Austinite) and so we always stop to eat here. get the okra.. and the broccoli casserole..and the spicy bbq sauce.lol

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wingdale, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

First time at the is restaurant and the food was very good. It was affordable, however the portions was small.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

They have an excellent menu for all sorts of bar-b-que. There are soooo many different sides you'll have a hard time picking just be sure and try the loaded potato salad. And try dessert too or take it home with you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pok-e-Joe's Catering is Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This review is for the catering aspect of Pok-e-Joe's which we used for a backyard BBQ the weekend of my wedding. The staff were super helpful especially since we tasted their food and decided that the flavor profile needed to be amped UP. The Catering manager accommodated our needs and on the day of delivery, the set up was flawless, they were punctual, patient and the food...OMG...DELICIOUS! We catered for about 75 people and at no time was the BBQ dried or anything less than YUMMY!!!!
I gave them 4 Stars because the initial food choices before increasing the flavor profile was quite bland and couldn't figure why Pok-e-Joe's would even consider serving such sub-par meat when they clearly can do better. Well done Pok-e-Joe's ! We would surely use your service again~

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tough meat, luke warm sides”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Meats were ehh, I had the spicy bbq sauce, it was pretty good, but I felt nervous eating all of the sides as they were not at a food safe temperature. Jalapeno corn bread was dry and bland, mac and cheese was average. They did have IBC rootbeer, that was a plus

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pok-e-Joe's Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.