We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's BBQ

Ruby's BBQ
512 W 29th St, Austin, TX 78705-3714 (University of Texas)
(512) 477-1651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #677 of 3,123 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: University of Texas
Dallas
2 reviews
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I ordered the smoked turkey sandwich but received the chicken sandwich by mistake. I thought I give it a try and not return it and it was the biggest mistake I made. The chicken was a little uncooked and very little seasoning. The tacos were ok but not what I expected from a high rating on yelp.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    13
    22
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's just part of Texas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I imagine most everybody in the area eats at Rudy's at least a couple times each year. It's just part of living in Texas. It isn't the best, but it's pretty darn good and you always know what to expect. Order your meat by the pound, grab a few sides and have a feast. Make sure and get a little extra bbq sauce.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“The Best in and out of Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just a real great old restaurant. Friendly staff, tons of cool photo's and stuff from past patrons and don't forget the food. Honestly the best we found in Austin, Great Sausage, spicy beans to die for and good cole slaw and good sauce. Iron Works and Salt Lick were passed up by this surprise of a place. Do yourself a favor...it will make you glad!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galion, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Sorry, this place was not good for our first experience of Texas BBQ! We were let down, immensely. We ate outside and there was a freaking cat that belonged to the place that was roaming around ON top of the table. Gross! The ladies who served us were nice though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Austin BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited during sxsw from England as a group. Came back a second time it was so good...the ribs and pulled pork are amazing, sauce great and atmosphere great too...some good veggie options as well, nobody left disappointed

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.