We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T & S Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
T & S Chinese Restaurant
10014 N Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78753-4118
512-339-8434
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,102 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

T&S has been my Fav for years! Love the Dim Sum & I don't care if I am the only non Asian sitting there! Bring it on, I SAY! LOL! Y'all gotta try it, but get there early 1st come 1st served. Love the S&P shrimp,sticky rice, dumplings... OMS! LOL! Very nice atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This restaurant has signs advertising that they have been voted the best Dim Sum restaurant in Austin for many years running. The food portions are huge, service was great (except for the rude cashier at the door), and everything was tasty!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Seafood in Austin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

In the last ten years or so we practically dine here once every other week, if not more frequently. Although the restaurant advertises itself as a Chinese Restaurant Seafood, we have tried both seafood and non-seafood. By our standard, they have as many typical Chinese food dishes compared to Chinese-Vietnamese fusion (blend) food dishes. The ownership is Sino-Vietnamese, emigrated from Vietnam in the late 1970s. In the last several months, they have also introduced some more typical Vietnamese food dishes, as they advertised it as such, but they are not very popular, particularly compared to their other dishes mentioned earlier. This gives you an idea of what to expect from this "Chines" restaurant, I hope.
The majority of the dishes are quite tasteful, not as greasy as in other more traditional Chinese restaurants, like the one you'd find in New York or San Francisco. The one dish that brings us to this restaurant at least once every other week when we are in town is their salt & pepper lobster with jalapeno. For around $35 you get double lobster of quite good a size. This delicious is a must if you really like sea food. Then there are super fresh steam fish, snow pea leaves sauteed with garlic, steamed tofu with shrimps, claims with soy sauce, fresh oysters, etc. You won't go wrong with any of the said dishes. They also have delicious dim sum during the weekends.
The ambiance is one of casual dining and family oriented. The restaurant does not look super clean, but the food is super good. Their service is excellent. You'd just need to ask for Benny or Cindy! They and their food won't let you down!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Dim Sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

Get there early if you don't want to wait in line, we arrived right at opening and withing 10 minutes they were already giving away numbers for seats.

The restaurant is a bit of a hole in the wall but that has no bearing on the taste. The dim sum was hot and fresh. The egg tart had the perfect taste. I don't know if they did not serve it but they were missing a few of the common dishes like beef cheng fun and lotus leaf wrapped rice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Average Chinese food with one exception... the jalapeno pepper shrimp... wait that's not chinese.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Average Chinese food with one exception... the jalapeno pepper shrimp... wait that's not chinese.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T & S Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to T & S Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T & S Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.