We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a stop when we are in Austin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of County Line on the Hill

County Line on the Hill
6500 Bee Cave Rd just past 360, Austin, TX 78746-5002
512 327 1742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $18 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kansas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always a stop when we are in Austin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We love the food at the County Line. The bread is so very good. Sweet and tasty. The bar-b-q is all great, you can't go wrong with any choice. My favorite item though - believe it or not - the mushrooms. So good, make sure to get a side. Beautiful location on the lake. Great view, great drive, but be careful can be a dangerous road if you aren't paying attention. Food is just as good at the other location - same menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    36
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great food with a great view! We wanted some good Texas barbeque, and did we ever get it! Portions are Texas size, so make room in your fridge for the doggy bags. Between 4 of us we sampled every meat on the menu, and all were equally excellent. Of the sides we had, I liked the coleslaw best. This is the place to come for BBQ in Austin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Original location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you don't want to travel too far outside of Austin, the County Line is a good option for some great BBQ. Fun interior, big plates of BBQ and a view of the Austin hills.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was my first visit to Austin and my first "real" Texas BBQ. I was not disappointed. I know that some may say this is more of a touristy place to go for BBQ but, honestly, if I move there - I will go back many times!! The portions were Texas big. And yummy. If you like a sweet instead of savory BBQ flavor, then this is your place. The only thing that threw me off was the sweet honey flavor of the giant bread. I wasn't expecting that flavor so, I kinda didn't like it and I usually love me sum bread! The staff was very nice and helpful in ordering our food too. I recommend you stop at this restaurant and enjoy!! (oh and they have a cow head on the wall that talks and sings for birthdays - super cute and fun)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great views...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great views...great decorating...cold beer!

Brisket: dry and not that flavorful; Ribs: tough; Sauce: nothing special. The garlic-mashed potatoes were the highlight of the meal! They were very good.

I suggest they focus more on the food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed County Line on the Hill also viewed

 

Been to County Line on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage County Line on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.