We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habanero Mexican Cafe

Habanero Mexican Cafe
501 W Oltorf St, Austin, TX 78704-5447
512-416-0443
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Rio Vista, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved the salsa.....Hot! And the carne asada, and menudo. The restaurant only has 15 small tables, but they take care of you quickly and efficiently. We also had the cheesecake dessert that was deep fried with caramel!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

OK, I'm a little reticent to write a review of Habanero. Not because my opinion is negative, by no means. But, because I would love to keep this wonderful place a secret! This is a "must" for a visit to Austin! The food and prices and unbeatable! The atmosphere is comfortable and unpretentious. The staff is attentive. You can't go wrong!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

this is a small but good place.bought lunch for the wife and inlaws and was very reasonably priced.had the carne asada and good chips and salsa.washed down with a few dos equis.everyone got something different and everyone was pleased.How often does that happen?we had to wait about 15 minutes to get a table but after that we had great service.good food and reasonable price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Weekday Specials for About $6”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Two of my co-workers and myself go to the Habanero Mexican Cafe at least twice a month. We usually go on Thursdays for that day's special: Chuletas Rancheras, which includes two thinly cut pork chops in a ranchero sauce, grilled onions, tomatoes, jalapenos, guacamole, rice and beans. We usually get there around 11AM and occasionally have to wait for a few minutes for a table due to the popularity of this restaurant. They have other daily specials for about $6 a plate as well.

My other favorite lunch item is Grilled Shrimp Ranchero which includes lots of shrimp in a ranchero sauce, grilled onions, tomatoes, jalapenos, guacamole, rice and beans for about $9 a plate.

Chips and salsa are included when ordering a meal and both are refreshed as needed. Staff are very responsive, friendly and have a great sense of humor. I always request no rice and guacamole with my orders and when they deliver my plate they'll often say "Chuletas Rancheros with extra rice or Chuletas Rancheros with extra guacamole" with a really big smile!

Due to all the favorable reviews by Tripadvisor members, the Habanero Mexican Cafe is rated in the top 3% of all restaurants in Austin at the time of this review. And the reason why? Great food at great prices and wonderful staff. Bring your family or friends or go solo as you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Tx-Mex at low cost!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Great food at best prices in Austin. The place is small and service is uneven, but the plates are worth the wait and price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Habanero Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habanero Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.