We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable place to see Lake Travis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oasis

The Oasis
6550 Comanche Trl, Austin, TX 78732-1205
512-266-2441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #483 of 3,158 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 620 and 2222
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyable place to see Lake Travis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We drove to Lake Travis for a relaxing light meal with a view. We first stopped at a dull looking 'burger shack' down the road with minimal atmosphere. We were pleasantly surprised when we found The Oasis. We had no expectations or previous experience with it, so we enjoyed the view and the multi-tiered seating deck overlooking Lake Travis. It was a great way to look at the surrounding hill country. The service was acceptable, but the food was mediocre. The margarita was basically margarita mix with a shot of tequila. Very sweet and weak.

Long story short... we would go back. The place has a nice atmosphere and is relaxing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    329
    251
    100
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“View is awesome, food stretches to be so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is where everyone takes the out of towners to see. The view of Lake Travis is superb, although the Lake is down a lot from previous years. Just driving out here is great, with the winding roads and the cool houses.
The Oasis itself is a restaurant with seven floors and lots of metal sculptures, it is a really fun time just to wander the restaurant to see everything (we were there when it first opened for the day and it was about 37 degrees).
The food was another animal entirely, with drinks from a gun and food that seemed directly from a microwave. I guess you can't have it all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, food-not so great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a must see for tourists because of the amazing view of the Lake Travis area. The drive surrounding is nice as well, beautiful homes, fun winding roads. Other than that, we will never eat here again. We gave it another try and it's just not worth it. The food tastes like something frozen that was popped into the microwave. The service is also very bad. Seems like an investment into such a great location could bring in a more steady flow of business if they would simply improve the food & staff quality. Kind of depressing to see all of the closed surrounding shops in the attached building. I wonder how they even stay in business. Get a clue...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Spectacular view: mediocre food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having lived in Austin for 35 years, I take visiting friends and relatives to the Oasis for the view and it's reputation. The drinks, although overpriced, are good. The food, including the standards such as burgers and nachos, are nothing to get excited about. This has been a constant complaint since it opened in 1980! Go for the view, once, and then head down the highway to better places with better prices and food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Since we were staying as paid guest at the owners beautiful home we decided to take in another sunset at the oasis. The food is okay but nothing awesome. The margaritas are wonderful in taste but pack very little punch. The view is what you make it. I always make it amazing. I was able to photograph the sunset and the amazing home we stayed in. We were given reservations even though they don't do reservations. They reserved table 119, this is the best view in the house. Ask for it if it's free. They have some celiac safe options. I got the shrimp brochettes and the rice. I had no problems and I am a very sensitive celiac.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oasis also viewed

 

Been to The Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.