We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisket melted in my mouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q
2451 S Capital Of Texas Hwy, Austin, TX 78746 (Northwest Austin)
(512) 329-5554
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Northwest Austin
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brisket melted in my mouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Being the first time we visited, they gave us an intro on how to order and some samples of brisket and creamed corn. The moist brisket was absolutely delicious and melted in my mouth. Be sure to get the creamed corn. It was unlike any I have had before. Really liked the barbecue/gas station atmosphere with sheets of paper as plates.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    200
    38
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at Rudy's several times and have never been disappointed. Everything is hot and fresh. The sides are to die for especially the creamed corn! My husbands favorite is the brisket and mine is the smoked turkey. We always bring back home plenty of Rudy's sauce and rubs. Love this place!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Still my favorite...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Have been making trips to Austin once a year for the past 4 years and this is the place I always stop at after landing and before heading to the hotel. I've tried a couple of other BBQ places in Austin and while all are good in their own way, Rudy's is still my favorite.
Typical order is moist brisket, baby back ribs, sausage, turkey, creamed corn, cole slaw, and of course lots of white bread....getting hungry just thinking about it.
If you want good, consistent food with fast, friendly service (although everyone in Austin is friendly!), Rudy's is the place to go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting Way to Eat Meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Might not the first choice, but interesting way to eat. The beef pretty tasty, just not a fan of eating meat with white bread(?) (I like hamburger tho). But the price is good, and you should try if you haven't.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

OMG. The Brisket is to die for. Especially the lean brisket. It's a busy place and a very casual atmosphere. They sell their barbecue sauce and seasoning. They also do smoked turkey and that is VERY good as well. A must to go to if you are in Austin.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Country Store & Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.