We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmelo's Restaurant

Carmelo's Restaurant
504 E 5th St, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-477-7497
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmelo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #265 of 3,154 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Red River
Transit: Armadillo Trolley.
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although the interior decor is getting a little too long in the tooth to feel fancy, this restaurant had excellent wait staff and commendable food. The lasagna, while not as good as my mother's - was very good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good place for older patrons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's always a challenge to pick a restaurant for my mom, who has hearing aids. Wanted something special for her 75th & Carmello's did not disappoint. Lovely old building, warm waitstaff, really nice ambience with a menu that is not as overpriced as some of the newcomers (Vespaio). Had a lovely dinner for 4 with appetizers & wine for about $50/each, TT included.
Arancini were $7 for 3 baseball-sized servings are were one of the best things I've eaten lately.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Quiet, elegant, friendly, delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We took our son, daughter-in-law, and grandson to Carmelo's this evening for an anniversary dinner -- theirs --and were completely delighted with the experience. The restaurant is in one of those funky old white limestone buildings in downtown Austin, and offers a quiet, generously-appointed, thoroughly delicious dining experience.

We had a variety of dishes, including carpaccio, smoked salmon, shrimp, veal marsala, pasta, and red snapper; in our judgment they got it exactly right. The carpaccio was particularly nicely done; red snapper, which two of us enjoyed, came on a very tasty risotto cake. I'm not usually a big fan of risotto but this was a real addition. Wines are diverse and nicely mixed across price levels; the whole list is a little red-heavy but we found a superb Vernaccia (a personal favorite) for under thirty dollars. (On the top end of the wine list you might want to check your credit limit, but there are many good offerings in between).

Service was very well-organized -- one of our dishes (a fabulous pasta carbonara, rich but not loaded-down with cream) was done tableside, which made for great food theatre, while the other entrees arrived; it made a really well-timed presentation. They topped it all off with a surprise presentation of tiramisu for the anniversary couple, decorated with a variety of artistic touches. We were, in all, completely impressed.

The overall atmosphere is quietly sophisticated, comfortable, and welcoming. The staff were perfectly happy to have our 3.5-year-old grandson at the table -- he is becoming a restaurant veteran, by now, and enjoyed the evening too, but it was clear that well-behaved children are welcome.

You can spend a lot here, or you can keep things well under control, without forgoing the good stuff on the menu. This is one of those places where it really seems to matter to the staff that you have a fine evening.

There is valet parking on-site -- always useful in downtown Austin -- at a minimal charge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, amazing food and wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I decided to stop by Carmelo's on the recommendation of a friend whose sister is an Austinite; I figured a local would know what they were talking about. We were not disappointed!
We had a party of three and decided to make reservations because we weren't sure what to expect on a Thursday night at 8. Although it turns out, we really didn't need them.
It was so nice to be able to pull up to the restaurant and park on site as they offer free valet parking. The historic building is charming and really establishes the perfect ambience from the outside in. As you walk in you are greeted by a live accordian player - such a great addition. We were seated immediately. The wait staff was dressed formally although the restaurant itself didn't require or make you feel like you had to absolutely be formally dressed. Smart casual, as described on the site, is sufficient.
All three of us ordered the ravioli d'aragosta filled with lobster, topped with shrimp, artichokes and tomatoes. It was absolutely amazing. The sauce perfectly complemented the dish because it did not overwhelm the seafood. The wine selection is impressive; I don't think you can go wrong. Same for the desserts. Great experience!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

we went in a very large group and the food was inconsistent in its preparation - the wait staff was attentive and quick to respond

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmelo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmelo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmelo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.