We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the happy hour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Pit

The Clay Pit
1601 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-1212
512-322-5131
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Clay Pit is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #202 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: Capital Metro offers a stop right across the road in front of the restaurant.
Description: Clay Pit Contemporary Indian Cuisine is a nationally acclaimed, high energy restaurant located in the historical Bertrams building in beautiful downtown Austin. Clay Pit has been voted best Indian restaurant in Austin and is recognized for a warm and inviting ambience, a dedication to service and for exceeding expectations. At Clay Pit we offer fresh, innovative Indian cuisine at moderate prices, along with an extensive selection of mixed drinks, beers and a wine list recognized with the Wine Spectator Magazine Award of Excellence. Clay Pit offers the traditionally favorite Indian dishes like Chicken Tikka Masala and Saag Paneer, alongside unique selections like our Curried Mussels appetizer featuring fresh mussels simmered in a garlic & red wine curry sauce; signature dishes such as Khuroos-E-Tursh, a stuffed chicken breast in a casher-almond cream sauce and sumptuous desserts like Chai Spiced Creme Brulee and Mango Cheesecake, which has been featured in Bon Appetit.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Go for the happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It's close to work so sometimes I go over for the happy hour when there is a half priced menu. Get the mussles with a side of rice. The sauce is so good you can order it to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    79
    35
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food I've found so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my first time at The Clay Pit in Austin. I had heard good things about it, but just never made it there. We were invited to a party there and the food I ordered came exactly to my specifications (no spice!). That has never happened at an Indian restaurant before and I could eat the food without discomfort. There were about 30 people there and everyone was raving about their selections. I also had mango ice cream for dessert and that was a real treat. If you love Indian food, this is the place to go! Prices are moderate too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

When you go there be sure to order plates of food to pass around family style. I've never had something bad there. You can also try an offshoot restaurant in South Austin called Tarka.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have a drink at the bar first! Soooo delicious! The food was amazing, and the atmosphere was great. We've been here a few times and loved everything we've ever gotten!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in a really cool setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited in a Friday evening to treat my wife to a special birthday meal. We arrived about 30 minutes ahead of our reservation time, so decided to hang out at the bar while we waited for our table. The bar staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending some of the best cocktails for my wife to try. We got our drinks and soaked up the cool vibe from the diners and the really cool building. The restaurant was very busy, but not overly loud, and for such an elegant building it was very much a casual dining experience.

When it was time to eat, we were escorted to our table, where our server delivered the first "Howdy" of our week long vacation, and he was a transplant from Ohio! The vegetarian food selection is very good, and we picked out a few dishes to try. One highlight was the naan stuffed with cream cheese and jalapenos, and another was the Pirate Laasi (mango lassi with Captain Morgan rum). The only downer was that after the generous main course, we were too stuffed to try desert.

When we next visit Austin, we will be heading back to the Clay Pit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Pit also viewed

 

Been to The Clay Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.