We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, friendly, fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastside Cafe

Eastside Cafe
2113 Manor Rd, Austin, TX 78722-2437 (University of Texas)
(512) 476-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Eclectic, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: University of Texas
North, South Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly, fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

A causal delicious choice for lunch or dinner. An old house divided into several rooms so not noisy or crowded. Wonderful staff, knowledgable and helpful. Lots of choices, some fresh from the restaurant garden. Very reasonable. Excellent choice of wines.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Charming atmosphere, delicious brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I loved this place! I wanted something a little offbeat for a Sunday brunch with my college-age daughters and husband. We had the Brie and chutney, eggs Benedict, migas and Belgian waffle. Everything was delicious and fresh - and there was plenty of it to go around! The server was sweet and very attentive! Don't miss this place!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stumbled on a gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Cute ambiance, good food, decent service. Had to wait about :30, but they have a garden and coffee shop area to kill time in, so no big deal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Cororado, USA
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Some Very Good, One Not So Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Four of us ate lunch at this place and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience. The vegetarian and chicken entrees ordered by the others at our table were very good. I ordered the smoked salmon ravioli, one of their so-called classic dishes. The ravioli itself was hardly noticeable, because it was swimming in way too much sauce. For my taste, the ravioli should be nicely balanced against the sauce. This dish was all about the sauce.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food, cozy atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is normally not the type of restaurant I would dine at but I figured I would take a chance and I am glad that I did. The place is an old house so it is a small restaurant but very cozy and a good place to take a date. Because of the small size it isn't too loud where you would have to shout to carry on a conversation. The menu is small but filled with great choices. I had the pecan and panko coated chicken with jalapeno cream sauce and a side of garlic mashed potatoes. The chicken was cooked perfectly and flavored just right. It wasn't swimming in gravy and the coating wasn't too thick. The mashed potatoes had a great texture, not runny but not too chunky either and just the right amount of garlic. The wait staff was wonderful and were right there if you needed something. My only complaint was that the parking could be tight as they share lots with another business but overall I would go here again. Perfect spot for Valentine's day.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.