We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastside Cafe

Eastside Cafe
2113 Manor Rd, Austin, TX 78722-2437 (University of Texas)
(512) 476-5858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Eclectic, International, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: University of Texas
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always A Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

It's a special treat to have lunch at Eastside Cafe. The food is always fresh and the setting delightful in an old house on the east side of Austin. I've been going there for decades and never had anything but a delightful experience. The gardens, gift shop and service are lovely. For in-towners, Eastside Cafe is like a mini-vacation. For out-of-towners, it's Austin at its best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An average early evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I should preface this review by saying that we may have ordered badly because my previous dining experiences at Eastside Cafe have been outstanding. Our group had the stuffed shrimp and the grilled meatloaf along with a fried shrimp blue plate special. The grilled meatloaf was a nice change after Thanksgiving but I think I could have matched it at home. I wish I had ordered the Artichoke Manicotti because it is always a crowd pleaser. The stuffed shrimp made for a lovely plate but it needed some zing. The blue plate was a hit with our teenager though. And Eastside's garlic mashed potatoes are always a treat. Like I said, we could have ordered better and based on that, we will go back again. This particular evening was just off the mark.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The menu is homey foods that have a twist. I could hardly make up my mind. It is all very fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is comfortable and the service was great. Good prices too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An Austin Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was one of Austin's original restaurants using fresh, local produced food...including their own gardens. It is in a large old house, expanded a while back with a "garden room". The menu has standard favorites -- fish, poultry, pasta, and enchiladas -- as well as tasty daily specials. Because the food is so fresh and tasty, this place is usually crowded, especially at lunch, when folks from the university and other businesses in the vicinity frequent it, so parking is sometimes a problem...you may have to walk a ways. Great place for a business lunch or just for couples though, since there are multiple rooms and the noise level minor, allowing you to have a conversation without shouting while enjoying good food and drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A solid steady performer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I go to Eastside all of the time. It is always very good. Not the best in Austin, but it'll give you a good solid meal at a fair price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Eastside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.