We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Works

Iron Works
100 Red River St, Austin, TX 78701
(512) 478-4855
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #234 of 3,154 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

An Austinite took me here before a show while I was visiting. Love the restaurant, very simple, rustic decor. No pretense here. I ordered the beef brisket with side and grabbed a beer from the cool. We were rung up and sat down to eat. Delicious food, very friendly staff. I'll go back next time I'm in Austin.

They have a wide range of typical BBQ fare. Brisket, pulled pork, ribs, etc. and the various sides you'd expect. Nothing we had disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    120
    45
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went with friends while in Austin for business. I was really looking forward to some Texas BBQ and they said that this would fit the bill. The atmosphere certainly is authentic, but the food was just alright. I had the brisket and a pork rib. The sauce was just okay and there were not a lot of sauce options. I would pick to go somewhere else if I were to go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT lunch time treat with Authentic Texas Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Facilities are large enough to seat huge lunch crowd. Walk up window to order and wait in line for your food (watched my brisket being sliced). Great Texas Barbecue, it's a must try if downtown for lunch. Atmosphere was cool but don't come here expecting white glove service! Paper towels on table, self-serve soft drinks. Can't say enough about the brisket, mouth-watering!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First time in Austin. Wanted to eat some good food and I was not disappointed. Ordered the sampler that brings brisket, sausage and beef ribs with 2 sides. Plenty of food. Sausage had a good kick of favors. the beef ribs tasted good even though didn't have a lot of meat compared to the ones that my husband ate. And the brisket was divine! Good smokey flavor. Place was nicely decorated, staff was friendly. Definitely will visit again in the future.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You Have Not Had BBQ Until You've had THIS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Do not expect fancy...you order, you serve yourself, you open your own beer, you sit at a bench like table with a roll of paper towels for napkins, and you enjoy the best ribs, brisket, sausage, etc...that you can imagine. Don't miss it !! You will eat like a king for under $14.00 !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Works also viewed

 

Been to Iron Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.