We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has really deteriorated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Works

Iron Works
199 Red River Street, Austin, TX 78701
(512) 478-4855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“This has really deteriorated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I visited here 4 years ago and loved the experience so couldn't wait to go back again. I wished I'd kept it only as a good memory. I was extremely disappointed. The service was terrible, the people clearly do not care at all how your experience is, and the food was just plain average. There must be dozens of better BBQ places here. I won't be going again nor will I recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    163
    62
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
1 review
“first time last time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was really looking forward to try the ribs here based on the misleading pic of a long line of people waiting from inside to outside! When I arrived there was no line. I ordered a plate of pork ribs to go. I Watched as the guy pulled out the already made ribs from the big oven which was off. I asked green beans instead of the regular beans and potato salad. I left in a hurry because I was very hungry hoping o get home with hot food! The ribs were cold, the potato salad smelled spoiled ,the green beans were a real light lime green, and the bbq sauce smelled spoiled. I did not go all the back just threw the food away. It cost me $13.50 to never come back!!!!! your welcome!!!!! I would not even serve this to a stray dog!!!!!!!!! I will be letting everyone I know never to ever think of eating here!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Authenticity in an unexpected location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Iron Works is tucked into a corner of the Austin Convention Center, but maintains a feel of outdoors. You go here to eat meat. If you are looking for brocoli or asparagus, go to the local Whole Foods store because you won't get veggies here. Potato salad, beer and meet are what you come here to get, and you will get them all in volume.

The whole atmosphere is pretty laid back and could well be out of the local hill country. A very nice outdoor eating area overlooking a small creek provides for a nice place to set. You hardly know you are in an urban setting when you are inside.

All the meat for two with a couple of beers will only set you back about $30. This may just be the only place like this in the entire country.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good food and service was fast. Brisket and sausage were very good, ribs were okay. Prices are reasonable. Atmosphere was fine. Overall, good to very good experience, but not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Hungry in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were hungry and wanting to eat some Tex Mex or BBQ when we came across the Iron Works and decided to try it out b/c the parking lot was full. We were all very pleased with our meals of BBQ beef and their side dishes. I would be a regular if I lived here. Wonderful stuff!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Works also viewed

 

Been to Iron Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.