We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top 3 BBQ I've ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Works

Iron Works
100 Red River St, Austin, TX 78701 (South Austin)
(512) 478-4855
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #250 of 3,123 restaurants in Austin
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: South Austin
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top 3 BBQ I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

It hard to have a favorite because there re so many different styles of BBQ. This one is very good, Very tender great flavor. Get the sampler for a great flavor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    74
    97
    41
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Beef Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really friendly staff and fantastic BBQ. The beef ribs are amazing.

The sampler plate is a great place to start.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Only in Austin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We love beef ribs and these are the best! They are huge and have great flavor. A rib plate has 3 ribs but I could only eat 2. They have a great patio by the creek which is a perfect spot for a beer and relaxing,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“SXSW BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was at SXSW, so Austin was packed and many of us got shut out of Franklin BBQ. People waiting in line since 7am! Heard that Ironworks was great, so walked over there and had the sampler lunch there. It was very good. The best BBQ of my life? Probably not, but it was perfect for the day, the people were very nice, it has a nice ambiance, easy to navigate inside, and I was really very happy with my meal. One extra thing I loved is that it was not too salty. The ribs and the sausage were great! I would return, but the Franklin buzz is overwhelming ...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, NC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We are used to carolina BBQ which is pork and topped with a vinegar based sauce but we were anxious to try texas BBQ. You must be a beef lover for starters! We ordered the sampler which included sausage, which I liked, brisket that was so dry not even the tomato based spicy sauce could save it and a huge beef rib, which was also dry and a bit disgusting! A thick slice of raw onion (who would eat that??), beans (mine were cold), pickle slices and a scoop of potato salad were the sides. All the food is fairly priced and you get plenty of it but I'd stick with pork choices if you like your meat a bit juicy... Decor is rustic and dark which I don't mind but others might.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Works also viewed

 

Been to Iron Works? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iron Works, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.