We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fonda San Miguel

Fonda San Miguel
2330 W North Loop Blvd, Austin, TX 78756-2327
(512) 459-4121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have never been to this restaurant before although my husband and family had been there several times.
There was a bit of a hickup about the table but that was soon resolved. We went of Sunday Brunch. The food was out of this world. So many different tastes to try. I loved the cactus salad and the cercicci (not sure that's how you spell it - is fish in lime juice.) Then I had little bits of many other dishes and it was all excellent. Our waiter was very attentive and answered our questions and made sure our glasses were always full.
The decor was wonderful, not like the usual "Mexican" flair but I was told that this was a central Mexico decor and food. I loved everything about it and cannot wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    63
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wow, What a Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had just travel into Austin from Houston to meet some friends from Boston and have a nice night out with my son and his fiance as our guides and hosts. When we drove up to the Fonda San Miguel my first impression was "average", but I should have known better. Great Mexican and TexMex food thrives inside "average" and even "less than average" looking establishments, it is part of the whole scene. The lobby and guest receiving area inside Fonda San Miguel was a little small but very comfortable. We had a seat at the big central round table in the front to await our table for drinks, which became available after a very short wait. Somehow, it became evident immediately that this was going to be a very good evening. The hostess was very courteous and friendly and our waiter was immediately available to help the six of us to get seated and comfortable. The chips and salsa arrived immediately and the waiter began explaininig the menu to us, especially too our friends from Boston, and told us the daily special. This young man's style and approach to his job was to be very friendly, open and informative, displaying a lot of patience with us making for a very warm relationship. This, combined with the warm decor of the restaurant, the low key music and the great food turned this into one of the best evening meals I have ever experienced. We ordered dessert, sat around and visited with coffee and did just about everything we could to stay, relax and enjoy. But, alas, we finally had to leave. This was indeed a great meal in a great place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Great Food and Atmosphere"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I have not been to Fonda San Miguel in years. This year we went to celebrate our Anniversary. The ambiance is perfect for this type of celebration. The variety of Mexican dishes never disappoint and the service is excellent!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Mexican food in most beautiful ambiance in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our second visit to Austin and our second visit to this restaurant. The quality and authenticity of the Mexican cuisine and the variety on offer is outstanding. We went to the buffet on Sunday and it was superb and great value for the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could be the best mexican restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful place, with a nice music, incredible decoration. The food was great!!

Perfect for going with friends, family or your couple.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fonda San Miguel also viewed

 

Been to Fonda San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fonda San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.