We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful "Find" on SoCo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Congress Cafe

South Congress Cafe
1600 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-3522
512-447-3905
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 3,159 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful "Find" on SoCo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My fiance and I stopped here on our last day in Austin just before heading to the airport. I'm so glad we did! The decor is very modern and welcoming. We opted to sit at the bar for brunch. The bartender was very nice and helpful. The drinks were great, the food was great, we chatted with fellow bar-mates. I will be going back to this little gem for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    101
    26
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of my favorites in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I love going here for brunch. The wait is always long, but I don't mind. I enjoy walking around the area and heading back in time to be seated. I get the migas every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the potential food coma!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for a late breakfast. We were being indecisive, so our waiter Joe gave us some recommendations. We're so glad we took his advice because everything was so incredibly good! Carrot cake french toast appetizer, short rib hash and the steak benedict with chipotle hollandaise.... So worth the food coma!!!

I'd also like to comment on how great the service was. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly. The manager even checked in with us to make sure everything was okay. Overall, it was a great experience. It's very likely we'll go back again before we leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not so good this time ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had brunch here on Sunday, the last day of our visit. This is our son's favorite restaurant. Last time we ate here in May it was excellent. This time not so much. The calamari seemed over breaded and frozen. The egg dish I had was a lot spicier than indicated on the menu. It was okay but it was disappointing compared to our last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast/brunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

There was a slight wait but not very long & SO worth it. Clearly the staff is very well trained here; service is excellent. Our waiter, Joe?, recommended the Bloody Mary & a side of the carrot cake French toast both were very good. The rest of our meal was just as good too.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Congress Cafe also viewed

 

Been to South Congress Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Congress Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.